You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading Challenge - 2018 Resolutions for Autumn Rayne Acres

It looks like you have a good space to expand into. I look forward to seeing your updates. May I ask what breed of chicken you are raising? They're lovely! We had chickens at our last place and plan to raise them again now that we've moved. Coincedentally, like you, we moved to our new place in June of 2017.

Sort:  

Hi @britchesbrambles
congrats on moving to your new place! This is our last and final move now that my husband will be retiring from the Army in less than 2 years. Very excited to finally be in our forever home! As for the chickens, we have two breeds at the moment. We started out with the Mottled English Orpingtons. They are a large dual purpose breed. we like them as they are very docile and make great pets. Down side is they take FOREVER to start laying. We purchased a breeding trio in August 2017 and we just started getting eggs from them in November. The other smaller black birds are just your run of the mill black sex-link. they are a little noisier than the Orpingtons but are great layers. We have 6 of them and get about 4 eggs a day from them. I get a random Orpington egg every other day - If I did not like them so much they would probably have been put in the pot already.
Happy Homesteading!!

This is our final move, as well. That's why I'm over-thinking everything. :D I want to make as few missteps as possible in setting up the infrastructure here. I just requested catalogs from a few hatcheries to help us decide what breeds to raise. We really like Black Australorps and don't care at all for Bovan Browns; that much I know!