Homesteading Challenge #2 ....Embarrassing Homestead Stories

I am in the process of reawakening my inner homesteader. I was raised on a dairy farm and lived the homesteading life up until I joined the Army in 2005. Now, I am working towards getting back to the lifestyle I had as a child. So, while I am becoming reacquainted with the homesteaders lifestyle I am no stranger to embarrassing moments on the homestead. Most of my embarrassing moments occurred in my know it all teen years. I was a typical teen eager to show off and prove I was something spectacular. Unfortunately more often than not my brilliant ideas ended up getting me into some sort of trouble or hurt.
case in point, below is a picture of my brilliant idea for clipping the under belly of my 4-h project animal. Now granted, I had raised her from a calf and she was a very relaxed sort of girl. But still, I chose to look 'cool' in front of my friends instead of observe good sense and safety. This my friends is how you end up with a broken face and a crooked nose for life.
sitting under cow.jpg

I have mellowed out with age and experience these days and care little for what others think of me or how cool I am. That being said homesteading is an adventure that is filled with uncertainties and ample opportunities for me to look foolish.
we are getting chickens next weekend...that leaves me wide open for mistakes and mishaps. sad thing - I am the one who is usually behind the camera - rarely in front of it.

side note, I want to thank @kiaraantonoviche for coordinating this fun #homesteadingchallenge! I have greatly enjoyed reading all the other posts and look forward to future ones :)

Sort:  

Oh no, I'm so sorry you got hurt! A broken face doesn't sound nice. Compared to that the embarrassment is easy to shrug off. Thanks for sharing, though. Why did you want to clip the cow's underbelly?

lol no worries. Its something I laugh about now. yes, a broken nose hurts physically...but I think my pride was hurt more. I was shaving her belly to prepare for the showing class. She was my 4-H project. they have to be clipped and 'fitted' a certain way to look good for the judge.