Some Spooky And Interesting Short Ghost Stories Which Can Beat The Crap Out You!!

in #horror7 years ago (edited)

When I think about telling ghost stories, I think about sitting along with the family members,cousins or friends at the terrace telling spooky tales with a torch under my chin :P Despite the fact that isn’t an activity I’ve ever taken part in, ever, it just feels like the perfect way to share a scary story, especially at times when there is no electricity with sound of breeze and the stars overhead, and also the barking of dogs can be heard nearby.. Well, even if that's not the situation telling short ghost stories is a brilliant way to pass the time, so I’ve rounded up some of the very best ghost stories for adults from around the internet that are sure to give you a fright.

  1. THE PUPPY IN THE BASEMENT

This short ghost story, found on Reddit, is super creepy:

“Mommy told me never to go in the basement, but I wanted to see what was making that noise. It kind of sounded like a puppy, and I wanted to see the puppy, so I opened the basement door and tiptoed down a bit. I didn’t see a puppy, and then Mommy yanked me out of the basement and yelled at me. Mommy had never yelled at me before, and it made me sad and I cried. Then Mommy told me never to go into the basement again, and she gave me a cookie. That made me feel better, so I didn’t ask her why the boy in the basement was making noises like a puppy, or why he had no hands or feet.”

  1. Pretending to be asleep doesn’t work

Here's one that scared the living shit out of me which i found on thoughtcatalog.com

A young boy is sleeping in his bed on a usual night. He hears footsteps outside his door, and peeks out of his eyes to see what is happening. His door swings open quietly to reveal a murderer carrying the corpses of his parents. After silently propping them up on a chair, he writes something on the wall in the blood of the dead bodies. He then hides under the child's bed.

The child is scared beyond belief. He can’t read the writing on the wall and he knows the man is under his bed. Like any child, he pretends that he slept through the whole thing and hasn’t awoken yet. He lays still as the bodies, quietly hearing the breathes from under his bed.

An hour passes, and his eyes are adjusting more and more to the darkness. He tries to make out the words, but it’s a struggle. He gasps when he finally makes out the sentence.

“I know you’re awake”. He feels something shift underneath his bed.

  1. THERE'S SOMEONE UNDER THE BED

Sometimes the very short ghost stories are the best, and this tale, from Reddit via Buzzfeed, tells the story of a father putting his young son to bed:

“I begin tucking him into bed and he tells me, “Daddy, check for monsters under my bed.” I look underneath for his amusement and see him, another him, under the bed, staring back at me quivering and whispering, “Daddy, there’s somebody on my bed.””

  1. THE CHAIR

This short tale starts benignly enough, with a friendly-seeming ghost playing with children, but when you learn the origins of the ghost – and just why the ghost is moving the object around the room, it quickly gets a lot creepier. Submitted via Reddit by Scoopwhoop:

“When my sister Betsy and I were kids, our family lived for awhile in a charming old farmhouse. We loved exploring its dusty corners and climbing the apple tree in the backyard. But our favorite thing was the ghost. We called her Mother, because she seemed so kind and nurturing. Some mornings Betsy and I would wake up, and on each of our nightstands, we’d find a cup that hadn’t been there the night before. Mother had left them there, worried that we’d get thirsty during the night. She just wanted to take care of us. Among the homes’ original furnishings was an antique wooden chair which we kept against the back wall of the living room. Whenever we were preoccupied, watching TV or playing a game, Mother would inch that chair forward, across the room, toward us. Sometimes she’d manage to move it all the way to the centre of the room. We always felt sad putting it back against the wall. Mother just wanted to be near us. Years later, long after we’d moved out, I found an old newspaper article about the farmhouse’s original occupant, a widow. She’d murdered her two children by giving them each a cup of poisoned milk before bed. Then she hung herself. The article included a photo of the farmhouse’s living room, with a woman’s body hanging from a beam. Beneath her, knocked over, was that old wooden chair, placed exactly in the center of the room.”

…Did it get colder in here, or is it just me?

  1. The Crib Shadow

I found this on huffington post and it brought down chills down my spine reading it..so here it begins..
I was babysitting my niece once while I was staying at my brother’s place, and they had the baby camera setup so I could see her on the little TV it came with. I was studying and started dozing off when I heard some whispering and realized it was coming from the monitor.

I initially thought it was some feedback or something, but when I looked at the TV there was a dark shadow near my niece’s crib. I have never been more terrified in my life, but the shadow was clearly there where it had not been before. I ran to my niece’s room and looked around and saw nothing, but I took her the hell out of there. I went back to the TV, and the shadow was clearly gone.

I told my brother what happened and he pulled me aside and told me not to mention it to my sister-in-law because she’ll freak out, but that he had seen that same thing several times now, with the same whispering.

They stayed in that house for about four more years and when my niece was just learning to talk she would tell her mom about her ‘special friend.’ To this day, it scares the shit out of me. When they moved out, my brother told me my niece had become inconsolably sad because she would miss her ‘friend.’ Her mom would tell her she could bring him along but all she would say was that he couldn’t leave the house. We have never to this day told her about that damn shadow, and she apparently never saw it.

  1. THE GHOST AT HOME

In one of my favourite short ghost stories, a man thinks that he loses his phone and someone is playing a trick on him. Turns out, there is someone playing with him, but it’s a ghoul rather than a person. Submitted via Reddit by Buzzfeed:

“Last night a friend rushed me out of the house to catch the opening act at a local bar’s music night. After a few drinks I realized my phone wasn’t in my pocket. I checked the table we were sitting at, the bar, the bathrooms, and after no luck I used my friend’s phone to call mine. After two rings someone answered, gave out a low raspy giggle, and hung up. They didn’t answer again. I eventually gave it up as a lost cause and headed home. I found my phone laying on my nightstand, right where I left it.”

  1. THEY THOUGHT "BLOODY MARY" WAS JUST A LEGEND

Found this article on seventeen.com which really spooked me out...Have a look at it-
"My friends were sleeping over and just as a joke someone said "Bloody Mary" in front of the mirror in my basement. Nothing happened so we all went to sleep. Then at about 2 a.m., I woke up and it sounded like someone was pacing on the other side of the wall, in the unfinished part of the basement. I looked around and realized the sound had woken up several of my friends so I asked if anyone wanted to check it out. Everyone was too afraid ... so we tried to ignore it until slowly, we fell back asleep. In the light of day, everything seemed fine again and we didn't think anything of it. Until several days later. I was scrolling through old pictures on my camera roll, when I saw a picture I definitely did not take. It was of my friend who did "Bloody Mary," and the photo was of her staring into the mirror she did it in. The picture was in a really dark filter. I immediately talked to all of my friends who were over that night and everyone swore they didn't take it. So who did?" —kayla

Have a good sleep fellas!!

Feel free to comment on the post and don't forget to follow me!!
See Ya!!

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.hauntedrooms.co.uk/5-short-true-ghost-stories

i have collected articles from various sources its not full copy paste from just one site