End of the world horror movies

in #horror7 years ago

IMG_0986.JPG

I love movies in general, but the horror genre is my favorite. It can be hard to find really good ones among the many though. I will probably post more recommendations in the horror category, but I thought I'd start with a list of five great apocalyptic movies. Please feel free to tell me yours in the comments, as I am always looking for more. I am not going to go into great detail, as I am not a film critic, just want to share some titles for you all, in case you haven't heard of these.

  1. The Divide (2011)
    A group of neighbors flee to the basement of their apartment building. The super has a pretty sweet setup for them to hunker down in and still, not everyone is grateful. Things go from bad to holyshitsnacks! Real fast. Not for the faint of heart, The Divide was really tense and horrifying. Loved it!

  2. The Stand (1994)
    Not exactly a hidden gem, since Stephen King is a huge name, but still one of the best end of days stories. The book is even better, but the mini series is really epic, and bonus points for Molly Ringwald and the dude from Parker Lewis can't lose, Corin Nemek.

  3. The Night of the Comet (1984)
    "Daddy would've gotten us Uzis." Okay this one isn't very scary but it's totally radical! Two valley girl sisters try to seek out fun and other survivors after a comet reduces most of the neighbors to dust, and some of them into zombies. Just because they rock big hair and slouch socks doesn't mean they don't know their weapons. This is a classic in my family and fairly unknown.

  4. These Final Hours (2013)
    The Aussies know how to scare and devastate. In this movie, a selfish young man is on his way to a huge party that only ends when the world does. The atomic fireball has already killed off much of the world and is headed towards Australia. As the young man heads to his friends, he encounters a moral dilemma and has to decide whether he can turn a blind eye since the world is pretty much over, and he wants to party as hard as possible before he dies. A friend showed me this gem, otherwise I'd never know it existed.

  5. 10 Cloverfield Lane
    I hated Cloverfield, but I couldn't resist trying this one out because John Goodman and Mary Elizabeth Winstead are in it. I really liked the ambiguity of the situation. The woman has a car accident and finds herself in a strange basement bunker with two men she doesn't know. They tell her it is unsafe outside, but are they being honest or making her complicit in her own captivity? Tense and satisfying.

Okay, let me know what other apocalyptic goodies I'm missing out on. What did you think of these suggestions?

Sort:  

Congratulations @renodakota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks i needed a new list of movies to see!

Good, glad to help. I'll be doing more movie posts in the future, and I hope to get some tips too.

Did you have a chance to see any of these? I have a new, shorter list up currently. Let me know your opinion if you watch any of them.

Nice list i will try them

Cool, I hope you like them.

Night of the Comet is a classic! Love it!