Riding lessons with the daughters

in #horses6 years ago

Earlier this week, we managed to slip away from the daily chores and flee to the farm!

The weather was perfect!

20180611_114708.jpg

On this day we worked on bareback riding. Practicing balance, being a gentile but firm rider, and confidence.

20180611_123745.jpg

I discovered that #daughter1 and Novio, my stallion, are the perfect pair! He responds so well to get gentile guidance, as well as her leader energy. Once she learned that he only needs light touch and light cues, the moved like butter together!

20180611_123804.jpg

#daughter2 needs confidence the most. She loves the horses and loves to ride, but doesn't trust her insticts much yet.
She mostly stuck to riding Ol' Doby. He's plenty safe, but a bit of a stick in the mud with a mind of his own now-a-days.
Which is good for children learning. They wont get hurt, but he sure makes them use their brain to problem solve when he doesn't want to do what they are asking.

20180611_125414.jpg

#daughter3 has no fear... She would take off full gallop if we let her! Haha! She prefers riding Doby bareback, since his back isnt as round as Novio's. It's easier for her short legs.

20180611_114711.jpg

#daughter4 just played in the stroller or snuggled on my back most of the time.

Of course we visited Memaw and the garden before heading home!
Wasn't long ago that the girls were helping her plant the kale... Now we brought home a whole bag of it!

20180611_131726.jpg

And watermellon snacks!
20180611_134731.jpg

Thanks for reading!


Check out @steemitmamas! We are a community of mamas who support one another from across the world! Come join us!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

WOW, riding horses. You made it sound so easy and enjoyable! You are one brave mama and that's a handsome stallion you have, @corrielaine :) This is so cool that you are teaching them this skill.

#steemitmamas <3

Thanks @happycrazycon!

Ive been riding horses since I was a kid, so I guess it is pretty easy for me 😂

Its easier now that the older 2 are able to do some one their own, vs just me leading them around.

Wow! What a fun way to spend the afternoon! These kids will treasure these memories for sure... ♥

Best memories made is being with grandparents and doing something outside! Especially when the reward is getting to watch the plants grow and eat what you help with!

Wow that looks awesome! I used to ride a little when I was young and I'd love my two to get the chance.

Starting them right! They will not fear horses when they get this kind of training!

Pulling for you to get out on some land soon!

Wish you were closer, I have a bunch of sweet potato sets I would like to give you! You could get those little gardeners to plant them for you, LOL! :)

I bought a watermellon for snackin', but I lost track of it somehow...I wonder where it went?

20180707_190531.jpg

Maybe I will wake up Von, and ask him where it went. ♡♡♡

It looks like they had a wonderful day. 4 little ones must keep you super busy. My partner has three and I have 3 so we are crazy busy between the two of us. She calls us the Brady Bunch. Have you ever heard of @steemiteducation? You should check it out.

I am definitely kept busy, thats for sure!
Mostly cooking! Haha! They eat like crazy!

I will go check out @steemiteducation, thanks!