Time Plan

in #how-to7 years ago (edited)

Common sense tells us that there are 24 hours in a day. Yet most people will tell you they have no time. If you asked those same people where all their time went few will tell you accurately. Luckily I feel safe to assume that if your reading this you are not one of those people. That said I'm going to share an exercise I did a couple days ago that proved to be very useful for breaking down your day and utilizing your time most effectively.

1 - Start by listing out all your general daily routine by activity and time, examples below;

  • sleep 5-7 hours
  • Prime 5-10 min
  • make bed 3 min
  • morning hygiene 15-20 min
  • journal entry
  • physical training
  • eating/cooking
  • work 8 hours
  • commuting to work
  • commuting from work
  • entertainment

2 - Chunk these items into groups, examples below;

  • before work
  • commute
  • work
  • hobbies
  • entertainment
  • learning/growing

3 - Add up the times you have listed into there respected categories

In those 3 easy step, you will find that you have effectively and realistically broken out your day. Now you have an idea of how close you are to filling your 24 hour day up. Are you over or under? If you're close to 24 that's great if your way over or under make some adjustments where you see fit.

Now you can take action and make use of this exercise​ by organizing​ your chunks into a daily planner or calendar by however​ your typical day would run and now you have successfully planned out a productive routine. An insider tip of getting more out of your day is to double up your commute time with learning time by listening to podcasts, audiobooks, or reading.

I have listed my result below as an example of a typical day. Notice the word typical. Do not create this schedule to give yourself more​ stress! This is supposed to help keep you on track in a playful dedicated focused manner​​.

calendar_2017-11-27_2017-11-28 copy.jpg

I recommend​​ reading my previous posts, specifically ones listed below, about energy to make sure that you are well fueled to​ take on your new standard mentally and physically!

Time & Energy
https://steemit.com/time/@manofsteel/time-and-energy

My Energy Recipe
https://steemit.com/health/@manofsteel/my-energy-recipe-539d223f409e3

Finding More time
https://steemit.com/time/@manofsteel/finding-more-time​

Sort:  

This is great! - can't get over this post.
Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you manofsteel. I like this post a lot and have a suggestion for any moms/parents out there. I had to add a "MomSoHard" category which encompasses the time I set aside for my babes (playing, feeding, bathing, etc). Also, instead of work, I like to call it Career. My career is not work because, I love it! Thanks again ManOfSteel! Your posts are great!!