Sort:  

Good reference to polish your post.
I know I will use it.
Thanks for sharing.

Thank you! 😍

I hope many will find it useful. It's a little long, but really has EVERYTHING you need to make your posts stand out.

Thanks for stopping by!
Have a camel: 🐪

Great post! I'm a little late to the party but there is a lot of useful info in this post! Glad I stumbled across it!

I'm glad too! Info's still good. 😍 So far, nuttin's changed. I should get on another post with some advanced things though... 🤔

I've followed you so that I won't miss your updated post. Looking forward to it. This old dog is ready to learn some new tricks! All the best, @carrieallen!

Yay!
It's on my To Do list. I'm probably going to use much of this one (cause MANY haven't seen it), but add several NEW / more advanced things. This way it will all be in the same spot.

I am doing a quick (lol, even I don't believe that...) tutorial on LunaPic before this one though.

Hi Carrie!
Hope the fitness challenge is rolling :)
Checked your feed after i made the last comment and found this after one of your posts.
Thank you very much for the in depth guide, this helped a ton!
Going to try to upgrade my posts with some formating and upload images in proper size from now.

Thanks for taking the time to write this!

  • Devin

Hey, Devin!

It IS rollin'.... just not quite as I'd hoped.

I've done a lot of soul searching and I think I've figured out what the problem is... And I kinda always knew.

I've been trying to better myself and do new things in ALL aspects of my life and I'm finding all the new tasks overwhelming. On top of that, there's still something inside of me the puts off working out. I also put off other things, but working out is the worst.

The good news? I'm doing MUCH better in organizing my time with the other new things and am suddenly FINDING time to work out, where I just felt I couldn't squeeze it in before.

This tiny little thing as given me a new PUSH!
No. I won't make my challenge from a few months ago, BUT! I'm excited to keep going.

Thank YOU for always coming back and checking in. That's way helpful to me.

And YOU'RE welcome! I had fun making this post.

In fact, in the next day or so I've done a similar lesson for @helpie where I'll be rewarding folks with upvotes for using Markdown in the comment section. Check it out, if ya wanna. (Plus, @helpie is a really good group of individuals out to HELP. You can come play and then get invited to join.) 😍

Hi! @carrieallen I enjoy to much this article and the same with @katrina-ariel and @crisangel guides posts (im new student member of @thealliance), thanks a lot for make this guides, really very helpfull, since today im pimping my post! I begin with my today new music post, and i try to fix all of this pasts 7 days posts, I need to justify text and i was searching long time ago but i dont knew about it, just right now i can use it, so thanks for your posts

I'm so glad!

First, to justify:

<div class="text-justify">TEXT GOES HERE</div>

I have a more updated version of this... with even MORE tips and tricks! Check it out below.
I'm one of the newer 'teachers' in #thealliance so will be popping over to help you with formatting and such! Welcome!

🌟ULTIMATE Markdown Tutorial🌟

hi :D <3 thanks a lot ;) yes! i could justify my text today for my first "justified" post :D xD
in the end of I write
too for give space for another line :D

Yes! im new student from #thealliance too, since yesterday :D i saw your post just over there in the markdown´s guide room ;) so, thanks a lot :D

If you wanna see my new post here its the link, its about my experimenta freak music

Blessings ;)

Thanks so much! You cleared up a couple things I've been wondering about for a while. Sorry I found you too late to upvote (will upvote another post of yours!)

Here's another tip that I had a hard time finding but that I use all the time now. It turns a pic into a clickable link.

x.jpg

It works well with 'pull-left/right' too!
P.S. I love your art work! Talented and funny!

Thank YOU!

I hadn't really needed that yet, so hadn't even thought about it!

Thank you, I did not know about the youtube counter, just pasted the link. Where was this post when I was starting? Bookmarked as ref help.

The 'squiggly' in question ~ is called a tidle. Don't ask me what it's for though! Or how I know ;) Thanks for the post! Good resource to have.

I don't mean to nitpick, but it's a tiLDe, not a tiDDLy. That's why the word might be hard to Google.

No you're absolutely right to nitpick. I realized my error afterwards but never got around to correcting it.

LOL! Thank you! I tried to just Google the character, but that didn't work.

I'm going to go up and edit it and give you credit. I also found out, it's not always in the same place on a keyboard. 😯

Thanks for stoppin' by!
Here is a little dragon: 🐉

Thank you!!! :)

In common usage the tilde means 'approximately'. eg. '~10 hrs ago' = 'approximately 10 hrs ago'

Tildes appear in many places, but most famously in Spanish (señor = mister), above the letter N: Ñ, ñ (Pronounced like N+Y): Ñ (Wikipedia article gives more info)

Thanks for sharing

Lol! Computer troubles. I commented from my other account... but clearly that's me. 😎

no

  • Way!

This

is

Awesome

Lol! It's totally true! 🙃

Holy cow that is so much IMPORTANT information that im going to have to resteem it so i can continue to reference it till i get the hang of all these tricks.
I have been wondering about these things but I didnt have time to actually look around to figure it all out, thank u so much for this, it is a huge help!

Sure! I'm glad it'll be useful. I assumed if I wanted something like this, maybe one or two others would too.

Happy Steeming!
😍

One more question, u said "bookmark this page," is that actually a thing on steemit?
cuz that would be great! (If so, how?)
Thanks :)

Not yet. Though you CAN bookmark on Busy.org, which uses the Steemit blockchain (so all the info in a different outfit). I really love Busy, actually :)

And I also just add bookmarks to my browser bar for easy grabbing.

If you're interested in Busy, let me know and I'll lead you in the right direction.

Currently, my computer is sick, so things are a little harder this minute. Hopefully, tomorrow it will be better.
:-)

P.S. This IS @carrieallen. I normally use the Chrome Browser as me and the Brave Browser as @transientflowers. Currently, the Chrome Browser has the sickness...

Ummm... that's a lot to read. I'm going to continue yelling at you from the other room when I need to know how to do something. That seems to work.

Why ruin a good thing?

I love you too! 😍😉

Wow, this was thorough. Wow, you didn't leave anything out and actually showed a few I am sure I haven't seen on other tutorials.

Oh, yes. Quite thorough. It's exactly what I wanted when I was trying to learn all of this. Plus, with a little personality. 😉

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 7.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @carrieallen
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carrieallen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Mind expansion from overload of information! Haha nah it is a good reference and helpful for anyone. I learned a few more that I didn't know, thanks! :)

Yes. Yes. Mind expanded. 😎

There are a few more that I use in THIS post, but I felt like I was getting a little out of control. 🙃

test lol good tips! :)

Yay! You found the squiggly! 🙃

That little guy can be elusive. 😎

What awesome recomendations. I knew how to do most of this, but found a few useful gems. Which tip has been the most helpful to pimp your posts.

I think using the Headings, even if you don't really use anything else, can make your post easier to navigate. 😃

Thanks for stopping by!

This is a really important topic Carrie and I'm glad you have brought it up (:
I am just now recently starting to dive into the Markdown magic you can do on here and I really enjoy it a lot! It makes reading an IG or FB post just BORING! lol

Lol! I totally agree! Now, when I'm (sporadically) on FB I try to use Markdown and can't... Then I'm like, "What's the point?" LOL!

I spend a lot of time reading through posts. Many have pretty great, original content, but it's just presented poorly. If we can get out enough of these friendly tutorials, quality will rocket. 🚀

I have a few more tutorials along these lines coming up. Most all the resources I use are free and relatively user-friendly. Might as well share the wealth. 😍

Keep up the awesome work Carrie (: I think everybody will like Steemit more when they realize how to make their posts stand out!

Amazing helpful! Thank you for putting this out there!

You are so welcome!
😍

Amazing helpful! Thank you for putting this out there!

IMG_1574.jpg

You are the best! So much info and help! Upvoted and Resteemed!

Yay! Thank YOU for putting a fire under me to get this done. I'd been working on it for a bit (whilst compiling all the info for myself). Feels good that it's done. 😃

Now, on to the next tutorials!

Excellent stuff Carrie ;)
Tooting your mini-me to the center .. how do you make this stuff up LOL

Lol! Thank you @mcfarhat! 😍

The tooting memoji (it's what I call her) cracked me up too! I was trying to find something that made me look like I was 'moving over'... and that did it! I literally laughed out loud and decided to just use it... even if it's a little weird.

I suppose, so am I! 🙃

Wow! This was one of the best instructional i have seen. I will be adding this to my keepers and looks like i'll be busy for a while trying all this stuff! Thank YOU

Have great time pimping those posts!

Lol! I actually was super stoked when I learned all this. 🙃

THANKS HERE IS THE GUY I CREATED FROM READING YOUR POST! I JUST ADDED HIM IN MY NOW 5TH POST I JUST CREATED. THANK YOU SO MUCH!


OMG! He's so cute! (I mean sexy!) LOL!
Do you really have blue hair? Cause that'd be cool.😎

Bitmojis are the best!

Have fun creating!

I do in my head but employer's don't

Funny and informative. Thats what i like. I will now center my images and add some styling to my texts. I had to figure out few of this things yesterday for the first time :)

I'm glad you found it!

It'll become second nature in no time.

I even try to write in markdown on other social media. It doesn't work, which is dumb. LOL!😆

Congratulations @carrieallen ! I’ve spent many hours reviewing Steemit materials designed to assist beginners, in preparation to provide some targeted support to particular individuals.

I think it is particularly important to be sensitive to persons' community(ies) and subject(s) of interest (what they brought with them when they came to Steemit) and then try to help them to quickly find their ‘compatriots’ in the extremely diverse Steemit community, where you have to be extremely agile in keeping track of where your own post is on display after it comes into the New area and then disappears a few minutes later.

In the process of offering this targeted help (targeted as outlined above), I will have the occasion to point people to contributions of unusually good quality and helpfulness. Yours will always be in my short list of contributions to recommend concerning post presentation.

I’m a university prof., book author, etc. You have achieved a very high level of pedagogical effectiveness, IMO. There should be ways to bring pieces like yours to the much greater audience (than 114 views) that they deserve (in your case it is the ton of people trying to make good posts). And I hope that by now you have absorbed the idea that Steemit payments are generally good for "a few cups of coffee at Starbucks". Thankfully, that's no big deal for many good authors, like you.

Thank you so much!

When I started Steeming I found a LOT of helpful material, but nothing really in one spot. I created this as a sort of 'go to' for post creation. Though as I mentioned, there's much more! I felt like this was all very palatable, even for beginners. It probably helps a little that I'm ... colorful..🙃

And yes, I agree. I wish there was a way to get little helpful gems like this out to the masses. I'm reminded of a few tens of years ago when the ONLY way to be seen would have to been to get published. At least I have a shorter distance to go than that. 😉

It's really just a matter of exposure. Because I've yet to 'prove' myself to the masses, I simply don't have the reach.

But it's no matter. As you noted, I'll do this regardless. The added bonus of getting paid (even a little) to help, is something I'm not yet used to, but quite thankful for.

Welcome to Steemland! I wish you the best of luck ushering in the masses!

If you ever have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. You can also find me on Steemit.chat. If I don't know, I may know someone who does.

Until we meet again-

Hello and thanks carrieallen!
RE: “a few tens of years ago when the ONLY way to be seen would have to been to get published.”
Your remark brings that world back into my memory, and how right you are! If you have a big publisher or you already have a big name, marketing help will come along without a whole lot of cost for you. However, in this world, we either have to be clever marketers or to buy marketing support.
Most interestingly, the design of the reward system in Steemit more or less forces you to develop marketing and networking skills if you are to ever approach getting a decent number of dollars for each serious effort that you put in.

Finally, thank you for the invitation, which I think I will very likely take up from time to time with an offer to compensate you properly for your time. Here’s what I have in mind.

Most of my work is rather technical and the idea of putting in graphics comes up only when the graphics are statistical in character and are an essential part of the message that you want to convey. Consequently, the use of graphics that I see often here in Steemit, and which you demonstrate so effectively in your piece, is something with which I have no experience.

So from time to time, when I want to make my piece more appealing by putting in visuals that I would not normally use, I plan to call on you for your assistance on what would be good to put in a particular place, its design etc..

I should tell you, though, that I’m coming from another writing environment where my rewards are far greater than they are in Steemit, even though I generally get zero payment for a particular piece! Thus my posting here will be quite occasional, which is one reason I’ve decided that my focus here will be dialoguing one-on-one with people.

Cheers!

That's completely perfect.

My husband was the same way. He just didn't know what to do to break up all his words. Now, he's pretty awesome at it. 😃

Essentially, it's like putting each set of ideas (or single idea) into a section simply broken up with a picture that conveys the point. When we do this, it gives the brain a chance to stop, reiterate what was said (with the image) and be ready to start afresh.

The problem ( I find) with long sets of words, is folks tend to skim and jump ahead. If I can combat that with a picture here and there, ensuring more of my content being read/understood, I'm gonna do it. 😉

I think it's particularly important when trying to present more technical info to the masses. Of course, many smarty-pants🤓 will always love (and need) the more technical jargon.

I totally understand your 'rewards'. 😀

I'll be here Steemin' on. You may also email me, but we get reputation points for interacting on here... However, all of it goes in the blockchain... So email may be better for some things.

[email protected]


Note: It's the day before Hallowen. So I'm a Zombie...

You've put some very new ideas into my head about the strategy of inserting graphical elements (beyond my usual statistical charts) at the 'right' places to achieve specific pedagogical purposes, so thanks! I'll seek your coaching when I try that kind of communication!

Cheers!

YOU DID NOT meñtion how to produce colored text

Correct. Because I don't have any idea how. Do you? If yes, I'll take your suggestions.

I DID look it up, but found that while helpful, markdown is NOT a complete replacement for HTML. That said, if you already know how to code in HTML, then you probably CAN color text.

For now, if I need/want that. I would use a go around and simply make an image file of some kind.

I have to do the same thing to create emojis that don't exist. Technically, if I make it an image file, no matter how small, it's still not an emoji, but it appears to be one.

You can use images in much the same way to make/use different fonts and colors.

If you find anything- do let me know. I love a good shortcut!

Ok. I Will

Wonderful (and artfully entertaining) article of information from which to reference, thank you.
For my first post, I created it in Microsoft Word and tried to c&p it over. A few glitches but I finally somehow got Markdown & me on the same page (so to speak). Your tips will definitely make future articles easier to create, and I like knowing that I'll be able to play around with layout etc.
Do you know if the font can be changed? (Personally, I always prefer working & reading Arial.)

Yay! I'm glad I helped.

To make it even easier on you try out https://stackedit.io/editor or https://hackmd.io/ . They are IN browser Markdown editors that are pretty easy to use, can connect to Google Drive and store in the browser for easy grabbing. Plus, if something's not working on Steemit.com you can always copy/paste into one of those and see what it looks like.

I also do this at busy.org. 😃

AND if you use the Chrome Browser there's an extension that makes the editor show up to the right when you're creating a post. So that's cool.

Regarding font: Nopers. Markdown is simplified (structure only) version of HTML. Though if you know HTML, you can combine the two whenever you want. Here's a link I found that very concisely explains it. You may be able to get it to work... In fact, I may try it out too. 🙃

https://pairlist6.pair.net/pipermail/markdown-discuss/2015-March/003310.html

Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks, I will check out those links and have a play around. :)

Thanks for this funny and informative tutorial ! Where do you find this funny comic figures ?

I created my own Bitmoji (I call her my memoji) at Bitmoji.com. Simply go there and download the correct app and start creating! Once you have your image there are TONS of cartoons to choose from and more being created every day. It's pretty awesome.

I use the original size in my posts, but always shrink them down to 150px for comments.

For the love of all things, please shrink your images for comments. 😅 Someone on here always uses huge ones and they are so obtrusive. It's like back in the day when newbies to the interwebs typed in all caps. 🤣 Yelling isn't necessary. We can all read. LOL!

OH! Also, SAVE the images. No telling if/when Bitmoji will cease to exist. They used to have a comic version of the site too... but alas, that is no more. 😔

Thanks for stopping by! 😍

Thank you very much! I’ll check that out! It would be cooler to paint one on my own, but well... 😊

True. True. But my memoji disagrees. LOL!
image.png

Wow. This one really helps to better my posts.

Awesome Stuff, C.A.! I really LOL'ed at this one :D

I got the link from one of your newest minnows in the Classrooms :D
I got in the Alliance before the current format and I think it's Great!
I know a lot of markdown but there's nothing like a refresher ;)

Bwhahahaha!

So... Ginabot told me you commented, but I could only see the first line....

I KNEW this was the pic you were thinking of! 🤣
I really wanted something with movement... and this seemed just right. LOL!

I'll be doing another one (with some more codes) soon. But it shall be amusing. Cause why else would ya read it? 😉

I'm wondering if it would be OK for me to use your new post in my training, and if you give me a heads up I will run it when it is NEW and ask my little fishies friends to throw you some lovin's OF COURSE, I will too!

😉

For sure! I will bump it up on my To Do list!

Let's say I'll shoot for Tuesday. 😀

I have a BUNCH of stuff to do today to get ready for my (second) radio/podcast show tomorrow. And I need to real world work tomorrow before my show... So Tuesdays seems doable. 😍

Wow great Post.... thanks for sharing..
You will check this out and give me a feedback..https://steemit.com/photography/@towhid/a-day-in-national-memorial-for-photography