Tutorial how to prepare for the ICO of EOS tomorrow

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

EOS - June 26, 2017 at 13:00 UTC

Distribution details:

The EOS Token distribution will take place over 341 days starting on June 26, 2017 at 13:00 UTC. One billion (1,000,000,000) EOS Tokens will be distributed according to the schedule below:

  • 200,000,000 EOS Tokens (20% of the total amount of EOS Tokens to be distributed) will be distributed during a 5 day period beginning on June 26, 2017 at 13:00 UTC and ending on July 1, 2017 at 12:59:59 UTC (the “First Period”)

  • 700,000,000 EOS Tokens (70% of the total amount of EOS Tokens to be distributed) will then be split evenly into 350 consecutive 23 hour periods of 2,000,000 EOS tokens each beginning on July 1, 2017 at 13:00:00 UTC

  • 100,000,000 EOS (10% of the total amount of EOS Tokens to be distributed) will be reserved for block.one and cannot be traded or transferred on the Ethereum network.

Go to: https://eos.io/ and scroll down:

eos.png

You have no choice but agree to all of this:

2017-06-25 (6).png

Now you should be here: https://eos.io/information and it's getting complicated for the new people.

Although they suggest to use Chrome + Metamask wallet I think it will be much easier to just use https://myetherwallet.com/ which is listed as an alternative:

eos2.png

Remember that you can't invest directly from you account exchange. You will lose your ETH and not receive any EOS!

InIncompatible wallets:

incompat.png

Participation explained:

EOS ICO will be dedividednto periods:

eos222.png

The first period in which you are able to buy EOS starts on June 26, 2017 at 13:00 UTC.

  1. Create an account here: https://www.myetherwallet.com/

  2. Backup your json file and private key.

  3. To log in use Send Ether & Tokens

  4. Fill in as followed and click generate transaction, then confirm to send.

eos22.png

How to claim EOS

The EOS Tokens will be reserved for you to claim when the period is completed.

  1. Go to your https://www.myetherwallet.com/ again. Click Contracts.

  2. Address and ABI / JSON will be revealed tomorrow here: https://eos.io/information at 13:00 UTC.

  3. Fill in the data and click Access:

eosos.png

Continue filling the new boxes which appeared below Access button

  1. Click ClaimAll from the function dropdown

  2. Load in your wallet file and unlock it

  3. Click Write

  4. set Amount to Send to 0 and Gas Limit to 3141592

  5. Click Generate Transaction

The EOS tokens should now be in your wallet.

Follow EOS official twitter to keep updated:

https://twitter.com/eos_io

Sort:  

Great info, thank you very much!

I'm glad it was helpful.

Hi @dawidrams,

Thank you for sharing information on how to use MEW for EOS.

For the period of 365 days. Will I be able to use MEW to purchase and claim EOS?

Follow me @Yehey
Thank you.

We should hire a linux guru to register the public keys, therwise we never see EOS tokens

Upvoted and resteemed. I'm surprised you don't have more votes. Thanks.

Thank you. Well I believe that they will come with time :)

Upvoted and resteemed. This is one of the most valuable posts on Steemit this very moment. Kudos.

Thanks, I believe that many Steemiters are interested in buying EOS which is developed by the Steemit creators.

If you contribute through MyEtherWallet, you will need to remember to generate an EOS Private Key and call the register() function in the contract before the end of the ICO.

Resteemed, valuable information. This 101 guide is great, and with a lot of explanations. I just opened the myetherwallet account :)

Uppvoted and Resteemed! Great info, thanks for taking the time to put this together.

I'm glad it was useful for you.

Great post!! Resteemed

Thank you for such a clear and useful guide. I'm so excited about EOS, this could be revolutionary!

Thnak you. It could be something great but I'm just concerned that it's built on top of Ethereum...

It's not.

Now I know that Ethereum is only used for the ICO and then ERC20 will be exchanged for proper EOS tokens.

Upvoted and resteemed :-)

Great information. This whole process seems very convoluted and confusing for a newcomer to grasp. Hope it works out.

1 ETH gets you 4 EOS.. oh joy..

seriously??

Yes.. Tragic, I know..

Very interesting! thank you!I wil read more stuff from you. What do you think about price of this token?

Thanks for following me.

There is no price because they have no max cap for the sale. So the price will be determined by the amount raised / by the number of tokens.

It seems like you're saying ETH is needed to purchase EOS tokens. Is this correct? If so, do you know why. I read your earlier post distinguishing the two and it looked like it was two separate operations.

Yes you need ETH because EOS is build on top of the Ethereum blockchain as ERC20 token.

You might want to update/correct this ; ) The ERC20 on Ethereum is just used to collect money. Later when EOS is developed all will move over to the new platform.

Yes fortunatelly!

Well well well, it seems I'm not the only one interested in EOS, I actually wrote about it a few days ago and was about to call out plagiarism, but your work is distinct enough


https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@destinysaid/eos-watch-4-days-to-go thus is my thoughts on EOS

also upvoted & resteemed!

Thank you.

And why can't US peoples get involved?

because US banks wanna try to get this regulated it or frightening newcomers and interested parties. they must be lobbying so we one does not go walking around with 10k of crypto. Don't see no stock brokers walking with milllions in stocks being stopped and searched on their phone. Obviously they gonna make it hard to have ICOs here in US.

What can we do about the government realistically? Is there anybody working on this or if they were I suppose they'd be pretty quiet about it.

Thank you! We will be ready!

It's good to be prepared.

Great, very detailed post.

Thank you.

is it possible the small investors, like myself, might be better of standing out in this 5 days round, and just gamble on one of the other days in the year?

I think that the idea of this crowdsale is to make it even and fair for all people. We shouldn't see much price difference The price might fluctuate over time depending on the whole market performance.

Another must-read for cryptopreneurs!!! resteeming this.

Thank you it's really important for me because the competition here in #cryptocurrency is stunning.

Can you write a similar FAQ for MetaMask?

Let me educate myself and I'll do it today.

Fantastic!
Followed.

Thanks. I'm thinking if I should just update this post or post a new one.

Thanks for the post.
What about the register process? Can someone elaborate on this?

You don't need to. Just make ETH transfer and then claim.

I do not think that's correct. Here is the reply from Andrei in telegram

"Andrei Nadejde, [Jun 25, 2017, 1:02 PM]:
Eos will be a new blockchain when the sale is over. The first block in that chain will have a eos distribution that is equal to the snapshot of the eth tokens at the end of the sale

If you want to access the eos on the new blockchain you will need a key on the new blockchain

You use the register to declare what key you will be using on the new blockchain"

Oh good then ETH is just a medium for a crowdsale.

Is Parity wallet compatible with EOS token sale?

According to technical requirements it should be but it's not listed in the EOS FAQ.

You have a steemit chat account, I'd like to have a conversation when you're free

Yes sure, my nick is dawid.

Thank you very much. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you for this tutorial !
check my posts too https://steemit.com/@claudio333 , I will try to publish useful info every time

Thanks, followed.

This is what I was looking for. Thank you very much for the information. Upvote and reesteemed

Thanks for spreading it.

thank you for such detailed info. upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you!

Great info. I had just transferred ETH using meta mask which I have spent a lot of time to figure it out before I saw this. Should've created myetherwallet instead if I saw this earlier.

Could anyone please explain this step?

It's not required as long as you keep your wallet file and private keys safe.

Thanks.

Anyone know how to predict whAT the price will be?

Nobody.

Price = amount of ETH in given time frame / 200 000 000 (for the first period)

This is extremely useful, with step by step instruction.

What about the generation of EOS keys? I don't mean the private keys of your ETH address but the EOS keys which seem to be something different as described in this article:

https://steemit.com/eos/@sandwich/contributing-to-eos-token-sale-with-myetherwallet-and-contract-inner-workings

You may want to wait before you invest. Read this: https://steemit.com/eos/@lenn/consider-waiting-to-invest-in-eos-ico

Hi there, i followed the post but still cannot withdraw the tokens. I did the eth transfer yesterday, could i withdraw now?

Hello, did exactly what you wrote but I dont get the eos. how long do I have to wait? Is it neccesary to do some other steps?

Hi, I did everything written here in order to claim my EOS (Click ClaimAll from the function dropdown

Load in your wallet file and unlock it

Click Write

set Amount to Send to 0 and Gas Limit to 3141592

Click Generate Transaction)
But no transaction is generated as a red flag indicates that I need 0.01 ETH. Yet I have 0.02 ETH. Please what is going wrong?

I'm in the same boat as you! Unable to understand why I can't claim my EOS using MyEtherWallet or Metamask!

sorry I am a huge noob here. I have an "my ether wallet" with zero funds on it. I also have a bunch of eos i bought on an exchange. Is there anyway to register these EOS tokens I have and save them before the june 1st deadline?