Revoking Vesting Shares with the eSteem Surfer

in #howto6 years ago (edited)

Download the eSteem Surfer desktop app

Go to https://github.com/eSteemApp/esteem-surfer/releases

Click on esteem-surfer-setup-1.0.6.exe or, if you're reading this guide after June 2018, the latest release.

Install the desktop app and launch it.

Log into the Esteem Surfer but DO NOT use SteemConnect

It will ask you to create a 4-digit PIN number. Memorize your PIN!

Select "Wallet" in the top menu

Click "Vesting" dropdown menu and select "Power down"

Click on Red Trash icon

Input your PIN when asked

Click the blue "unlock" button when you put your PIN in.

FAQ

How do I check if my Vesting Shares were re-routed?

Go to https://steemd.com/@your account and look down the left side to where it says "Withdraw Routes".

If it's anything other than 0 then a re-route is in place.

Why can't I use SteemConnect?

Because it doesn't have the setWithdrawVestingRoute functionality implemented yet, so it won't work.

If you get this error, log out and back in using the app itself, not the SteemConnect option.

Does @good-karma really take 25%?

No, that's just my example I set up. The wallet DID NOT come like this.

Is the eSteem Surfer a trusted app?

Yes. It was created in good faith by @good-karma and the code is on GitHub, open to anyone who wishes to examine and validate it. Explore all the app's features on your own.


Like what we're doing? Support us as a Witness.
Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
At the bottom, type in guiltyparties
Click VOTE


Sort:  

I'm a regular user of esteemapp. I use it in both Mobile phone and my Ubuntu laptop. It is a great app I can say from my experience. But, what exactly does this 'revoking vesting shares' means? Does that means that I can control how much benefactor reward I wish to give to @good-karma? I really am a noob at these things!

What this does is control who gets your funds when you power down your SP, aka your 'vests'. For example, if you want to power down and give all of the STEEM that you get out of your SP to your friend, you can set him as the benefactor.

Thank you very much for this tutorial! Much appreciate it!

Thank you very much
For this tutorial! Much
Appreciate it!

                 - maruharraca


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Ooh great topic and i had posted approx same 3 days ago.. You can check this here : https://steemit.com/esteem/@face2face/add-other-user-for-your-powerdown-withdraw-a-new-feature-of-esteem-surfer-a07d34f22e7c4est

However eSteem surfer is fabulous app.

Nice. Didn't see that or it would've saved me some time earlier today.

Want to take mine and translate it?

In Hindi language?

Yeah. Most of those targeted by hackers don't speak English.

Is it? ok i will care about it and thanks for great information..

Yeah it would be a great post if you could do that. Thanks man.

Ok i will try to do that..

Recently I got an issue in mobile app. I can't attach a single image. Whatever the size, it's just faliure to attach. What should I do?

I'm not a mobile user but you can always upload it to Imgur using that app and then just insert the image url.

Imgur. Ok I'll try with it. Hope it helps me. Thank you 🙂

It's not working also 😭received_10211123935045512.jpeg