HOW TO COMMIT "STEEMICIDE" (suicide on steemit) - AND... HOW NOT TO, IF YOU PREFER TO AVOID IT

in #howto8 years ago

"STEEMICIDE" - We've all seen it happen. Maybe we've even thought about it.


A blogger is heading along their merry way in the sea of steemit when suddenly, they kill themselves!


Most of the time, we just get to sit back and wonder...

I have seen multiple users commit blogging suicide on steemit and I'd like to share a few of the methods that they have used, so you can avoid them if you want.

When I use the term "steemicide" I mean that the user has chosen to engage in activity that effectually ends their blogging career on steemit, at least with that username.


DRINKING LETHAL PERSPECTIVES

This seems to be the root of much negative activity on steemit. A new user shows up, often after hearing amazing success stories about someone on steemit, and they expect to get huge payouts from the minute they hit "post." From their point of view, if it happened to someone else, it had better happen to them.

The "entitlement" mentality that plagues our modern societies is what I believe fuels this problem. People want to get paid just for existing...

  • I was born - pay me
  • I had a kid - pay me
  • I'm hungry - pay me
  • I'm poor - pay me
  • I need a phone - pay me
  • I want to go to college - pay me
  • I can't get a job - pay me
  • I don't want to get a job - pay me

When we exist in societies that breed this type of mentality, how can we not expect it to overflow into steemit?

In "real life" people with this mentality look to the government to pay them and take care of them. After all, those in the government are the ones in charge, right? On steemit, these people look to the whales to pay them, after all, they, in essence, hold the money book, right?

When others are getting paid, they feel left out, because they are not. Just like in real life, envy sets in. People no longer want to have to work for a few decades and then be able to buy a nice house and have some pleasant things. Those "decades of work" in "the real world" can be compared to the time invested in steemit. Many who are doing quite well here now did not start off that way. I've seen posts documenting it. (If you know what I'm talking about, please link the post in the replies below.) Often, there was a lot of "trial and error" work that went into becoming successful. All the time spend blogging, interacting, and building a following means nothing to the entitles newcomer.

"I want what you have and I want it now -pay me!"

When one comes into steemit with that kind of mentality, it can end the life of that user on steemit because everything that they see going on around them will be filtered through that lethal perspective.


KICKING A HORNETS NEST

This is very common with some users, but once it is allowed to dominate their blog and their comments, usually the end is not too far away. Basically, though we are all minnows, dolphins, and whales swimming around in the sea of steemit, we could also be likened to a nice, pleasant hive of hornets, just enjoying themselves and doing their thing. Once someone starts to kick the nest though, things can get nasty and people can get stung.

Some of the most frequent ways to "kick the hornets nest" are:

  • "This is a scam"
  • "This isn't fair"
  • "This is a scam"
  • "You're cheating"
  • "This is a scam"
  • "This is a scam"
  • "This is a scam"

Of course it is alright to have concerns, and to ask questions, but when the only someone ever says is the same negative mantra over and over again in every post, it'll lead to their destruction.

Basically, if someone is committing this form of steemicide, a whole lot of negativity is thrown around in every direction, which disturbs a lot of "the hive." Many who are trying to succeed and are struggling with various issues already suddenly have a whole boatload of negativity and doubts dumped upon them. Because a user who attempts this form of steemicide obviously isn't "making enough" with their posts, they determine that the whole thing is a scam, the system is rigged, and since they can't make any money at it, neither can you, so you better stop trying before you prove them wrong.

Yeah, it's sad to see, hard to listen to, and harder to control than a two-year old in the back seat while you're driving 70 miles per hours on the highway between two big rigs.

Often, I've tried to help cool off people committing this form of steemicide with gentle encouragement and edifying words of wisdom, but such is usually ineffective. Their minds are made up and if you disagree, you're either helping to run this scam or you are too ignorant to realize how deceived you really are.

I've seen a lot of others try to prevent people from committing steemicide this way, which is encouraging and goes to show what kind of community we are really building here. Most people actually care about the others here and want them to succeed. So many are willing to offer advice and words of encouragement.

When the user kicking the hornets nest refuses to give up and change their tone, eventually it seems that they wind up being downvoted into oblivion, and basically cease to exist.


BRINGING A KNIFE TO A GUNFIGHT

This is a form of steemicide where you are outgunned and keep asking for it, so eventually someone kills you. Who do the unsuccessful knife-wielding newcomers seek out to personify the "evil steemit system?" Often, it is the whales or those who have become successful with the help of the whales.

The problem with attacking these individuals is that they have way more influence and a lot more connections. One downvote from a single whale can often devastate a minnows reputation. You may have seen how just a few full-power upvotes from me can lift a user from the mid-twenties into the low thirties. Now just imagine a whale, with some serious power, can do when they downvote someone instead of upvoting them! Those with lower reputations are both more likely to commit this form of steemicide and they are easier to annihilate with a powerful downvote. This certainly can put them at risk, if they choose to battle another user.

It is also worth noting that the successful steemians often have a whole school of followers. This means that they may not even need to fight their own fight. Call them bodyguards if you want, but the moment that a steemicidal minnow attempts to take a bite out of their favorite blogger, they may want to step in and protect the one that they are following. Or even worse, perhaps a pack of followers don't appreciate the attack.

Suddenly, as if surrounded by a pack of hungry piranhas, the minnow may find itself flagged into the unseen.

Has their been some periodical questionable activities in the steemit community? Yes, of course there has... people are involved. However, this does not mean that every successful steemian is involved or that someone should attempt to call them out, threaten them, and expose them to the world as a fraud... especially if they are innocent.

Don't start a battle that you can't win with a lack of information and the wrong point of view, especially if it may cost you your life.


SELF INFLICTED WOUND TO THE REP

There are many ways that I already mentioned to get your reputation score to drop, but those are more "side-effects" of the unfortunate activities that some choose to participate in. There is another form of steemicide where dropping the reputation is the goal.

I've seen it multiple times where an angry or upset user suddenly freaks out, and compromises everything in an attempt to get heard. In the process of trying to get heard, they wind up getting silenced. The louder that they attempt to scream, the more that their voice fades into a whisper.

The most unfortunate part about some of the cases of this form of steemicide that I've observed is that money and steemit conspiracies weren't even the "issues." Repeatedly, some actual injustice or serious harassment was actually taking place, and the victim just responded wrong. In an emotional attempt to get someone to right the wrong, the user just made some poor choices, and wound up committing steemicide in the process.

If you have a serious issue, please consider asking for advice on what to do first, in a coherent, peaceful post.

What you do not want to do is to begin blasting all sorts of nasty language and inappropriately tagging the article in an attempt to be heard. I have not yet seen this method succeed, but I have seem fellow steemians disappear after such attempts.

As with any society or community, there is a general protocol and etiquette within the steemit community, and it is best to follow it.

This may sound like censorship to some of you, but it is not. Inappropriate behavior and activities should always be dealt with accordingly. Any view or opinion is free to be expressed here, and any user has the freedom to either agree or disagree with that opinion. However, to resort to tag abuse and vulgar and profane nonsense in an attempt to convey a message actually has the opposite effect of the one that was hoped for. I've seen it before, and unfortunately, most likely will again. I just hope that it's not you committing this form of steemicide next time.


THE NOOSE

This is actually my favorite form of steemicide for many reasons.

Yes, I know that sounds deranged and creepy, but please allow me to explain.

For one, this form is silent. Basically, "the noose" is when a user just "checks out" of steemit. By doing so with a quiet exit, or maybe a simple goodbye, there has not been much compromised. Since there has been no attacks on steemit or its users, no flag wars have been instigated. Since no inappropriate behavior has taken place, there has been no retaliation.

A few of the benefits of this form of steemicide are:

  • No immediate loss of followers
  • No loss of reputation
  • No relationships compromised
  • No negative stigma attached to the username
  • The chance of resurrection is greatest

With the other forms of steemicide a lot can be lost. A tarnished reputation can be hard to rebuild. An offended user can be hard to befriend again. Here though, with a silent exit, you can avoid all that. Then, if you change your mind later, you can just slide right back in. The Steem Power and SBD will be right where you left them, with interest, and perhaps the value of them may even be higher by then. You may have lost a few users during your absence, but if they chose to follow you once, they can choose to follow you again, especially since you just "took a break" and did nothing to actually offend them.

This platform can be a difficult one to participate in, and it can be very discouraging. I've seen enough stick around and actually "make a success" of themselves for me not to try to encourage others to do likewise. Too many have quit, often after doing undesirable damage to their username and reputation. If you've started down this path, please turn around. If you've already vanished into a negative reputation, I would suggest that you consider changing your name, your attitude, and your outlook on steemit.


5 IMPORTANT POINTS TO REMEMBER

  • No one promised you money to come here - Earning something for your posts is a possibility, not a guarantee.
  • Often, a lot of work is required to get a payout (kind of like in real life - work 2 weeks for 1 paycheck, etc.)
  • This platform has a lot of fun activities and interaction that exist beyond the money.
  • Blogging is not the only way to make some money - Voting and entering contests can also pay off.
  • The only way that I can guarantee that you will not succeed is to quit - As long as you do not quit, there is a chance that you can succeed. If you quit, there is no possible way that you can succeed.

THE MOST IMPORTANT POINT TO REMEMBER:

  • All too often, our own jealousy and envy are the root of the issues here. When you are the successful one, there is no problem. However, when you are not, everything and everyone is a problem. Those who created steemit did not have to do it. They chose too, and since they did, we all have an opportunity to be blessed by it. That is a good thing, even if others get more of a blessing out of it, and even if only others get a blessing out of it, and we never do.

Are you comfortable with someone else receiving a blessing?

Or are you still more important than every other person combined?


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Excellent post. Unfortunately I missed it before first payout so I'm voting on it for the second payout. I hope others join me in building a nice 30 day reward.

Wow, thank you for that.
I am honored.

My new post on the Steemit Lottery may be worth checking out.

I would at least be interested in hearing your opinion of it.

Thank you.

This post is now available in Portuguese thanks to @jsantana.
I'm trying to break through the language barrier with this method but I'm not sure how well it will work.
Obviously, some whale support will most likely be necessary; do you have any thoughts on the matter?

Thanks for your time, I normally would not contact you directly, but you replied to my English post and enjoyed it.

I'm joining you right now......papa-pepper has given me some Steemly-oriented points.

Glad to hear it!

From what I can tell, there are very few new people committing steemicide.

The steemicide is coming from established people who have gotten used to the whale bots upvoting everything they wrote, suddenly loosing that support (because the whales have updated their lists, removed some authors and are upvoting other newer authors). Cue a world of pain from the writer who used to get a lot of $$$$s! They think that the new writers getting support are a great scam, or they turn on the whales and complain about their power (but of course never said a peep when they were beneficiaries of that power!)

I suppose when you have something and lose it, it is always more painful than when you have never had anything at all.

Good point, that was in my mind, but I forgot about it.

NO WHALE LOVE can be hard to enjoy once you've become used to it.

Again, the entitled mentality comes into play.

Rather than being glad that they got some great payouts before, they rant ans rave that they aren't getting more.

Truly, to get some great payouts and to have them stop is better than never getting any, but they are entitled and miss that I guess.

Those folks are a little harder to drop, but, if they are not wise, it can happen.

Excellent point and thanks for the reply!

@papa-pepper

During my first week here I attacked tinfoil vigilante and some other groupie leaders. I got heavily downvoted but also heavily upvoted. At the end, like Kate Moss said "There is no such thing as bad fame".

Life is about kicking ass, not licking it

As always a badass. Well that is why we love you!

Sometimes any publicity is good publicity, but other times it can destroy you.

Great point though, and best wishes as you continue!

Thanks for your reply!

This is a great post!

I am afraid though that what you call "noose" accounts will eventually be sold for money.

Yeah, that may be true soon enough.

@papa-pepper, both the man and the username, are not on the auction block.

Thanks for chiming in!

Thanks for the tips. I'm new here and a bit tech challenged. I'm wanted to use steemit as an outlet to share my thoughts and ideas and don't want to make any of these mistakes. Tips like these are helpful.

Excellent, I'm glad it helped.
On steemit, I'm about "2 months old" and did not have much for skills other than typing when I showed up.
I'll check out what you've been up to.

Really great write up - "Often, a lot of work is required to get a payout (kind of like in real life - work 2 weeks for 1 paycheck, etc.)"

This is by far the most important. Don't expect a quick post will get you the big bucks. Sit down, think about your post, make it meaningful.

And even then you still might not get the big one, because lets be honest - those things happen ;)

Yes it does happen but most of the time is a luck. Lucky if an author will be chosen by the whales. Even if the whales wanted to vote, there's just too many minnows and too little whales. Its not proportionate.

At least there is still a blessing in it, and a chance.

Despite what this platform may lack, it still offers its users much more that other social media sites.

FaceBook began in 2004, that would be twelve years ago. Steemit is less than twelve MONTHS old and except for some minor glitches it's better. It's got a lot of growing to do and it IS growing, and improving almost daily. Smart people here.

One thing to remember about everything. "If you're not paying for the product, you are the product."
On Facebook the user pays nothing. Facebooks gathers a BUNCHATON of data from the users and sells it to various buyers, some of whom I'd rather not know anything about me. Steemit (I understand) does NOT do that. On Steemit you have to work for what you get.....or Pay.

I like it.

I like it too.
I think that we are doing great for where we are at!

Indeed. All we need is just to enjoy the show and join the flow.

Completely agree, and I'm glad that you found this post applicable.
Hopefully it will help some people.
Thanks @warrensteem!

Great post @papa-pepper... I blog because I find it cathartic ..and I am having such a great trip down memory lane for myself by blogging on growing up in SA in the 70's and music legends that the hours fly by.... is awesome !! o money in it for me... but I will keep on rolling {grin

Excellent reason to blog @themagus.

Thanks for your sharing!

hello @papa-pepper, just stopping back to let you know that your post was one of my favourite reads on my Steemit Ramble yesterday. You can read what I wrote about it here

Nice post. I enjoyed reading it.

Thanks, I have a few informative posts like that.

This post gave me a laugh. ^_^

Great, hopefully you weren't considering any of those, but if it got you off the ledge, great!
LOL!

Cool choice of words there!!! @papa-pepper

Thank you!
I believe that I even coined a term "STEEMICIDE"

THIS POST ALSO AVAILABLE IN PORTUGUESE thanks to @jsantana

##Please consider upvoting this translation to support the efforts.

@papa-pepper First-off, fantastic article. Thank you for this! I curate a lot. In the last 24 hours I have voted at 100% x 60 times. (source: steemstats.com)

I believe in give and take. As you sow so you reap, etc. As the Beatles said at the end: "The love you take is equal to the love you make".

Here is something I have noticed though. I would LOVE to upvote more minnows (I am still a minnow myself) with low reps for excellent, or even good, posts. Whilst I acknowledge that my or anyone else's ratings of what is "good" or "great" is purely subjective, last night (UK time) for 4 hours I could not find a single post where the author had a rep lower than 50 that really merited an Upvote for adding value to the platform.

I publish a daily digital newspaper called "Steem Talk".... thinking I should have called it Steem STALK, but anyhow.... I am constantly on the lookout for great posts... and that includes great visuals (first 'storefront' image in the post) as well as great content.

I believe newbies... indeed everyone including (especially) myself... should focus more on their content/images and the value they OFFER rather than what they can GET/TAKE. You gotta work, fetch, and bring firewood to the fire before it sparks and generates heat.

Just my two cents :)

P.S> Calm seas don't make good sailors.

@davidbrogan your comment reminded me of an article I just read. (Feel free to read it here) One of the best lines says:

"Our takeaway, add value. If you are not adding real value, you will not become valuable."

@sharingeverybite Thanks for that! Great article :)

Incredibly insightful reply.

Actually adding value to the community should be a focus for all of us, whether in posting or commenting.

If you want, take a look at my DOLPHIN POWER post.
If you want to drop me a link to a newbie to check out from time to time, I could them a little boost.

I like the insight into calm seas too.

Will do, and thanks! :)

You are most welcome Sir!

Great post. This will definitely be useful to me the day I want to get rid of Steemit (if ever) and steemicide me ;)

The "entitlement" mentality that plagues our modern societies is what I believe fuels this problem. People want to get paid just for existing...

Maybe you missed:

  • I have big boobs and a T-shirt with Steemit logo - pay me

Yeah, I missed that one!

I've been on social sites since the late 90s, one of the best articals on social etiquette I've read in a long time. Thank you!!!

WOW!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THAT INCREDIBLE COMPLIMENT!

I'm new to social media, so this is very encouraging for me.

I started stalking, I mean following you....hahaha, steemon!

Just try to stalk me!

Did you see my Occupational Hazards post

It's dangerous around here!

Thanks @reddust!

"This platform has a lot of fun activities and interaction that exist beyond the money." Golden words!

Agreed, even just looking at your posts is an excellent way to spend time.

And when someone upvotes your posts, they could even make a little money while doing it, if they'd rather!

You are right that Steemit, per se, is a good enough social platform, where we can have fun (certainly better than Facebook or Twitter, in my opinion), but on the other hand, the whole premise of Steemit's existence is for users to receive money for posting - and this is something most of us are missing at the moment.

Think of the following - why would people spend time (time = money, right?) here, instead on Facebook (where their friends are) or Twitter (where their favorite celebrities and brands post). Steemit's incentive is twofold - decentralization (data freedom) and cash for everyone. But the more people join, the more data is reposted from the net.

In order not to copy the entire net on Streemit, we have curation. 99% of curators are minnows and receive nothing for their work. The remaining 1% of whales can't curate the entire flow of new posts either.

So what we are left with is junk with the occasional good article posted here and there. Most of them remain unnoticed - because why upvote an article from an unknown author, when minnows prefer to spend their 20 vote daily limit on popular authors - to get that important cent for their click.

The current philosophy of the system is flawed and I hope it's addressed soon - because I really enjoy this new social network, and I'd like to see it progress in the right direction.

because why upvote an article from an unknown author, when minnows prefer to spend their 20 vote daily limit on popular authors - to get that important cent for their click.

This is where the minnows are going wrong. When they upvote a popular post, it's true the value of it rises. But the minnow won't get a curation award if whales voted before them. It is a complete waste of time for minnows to vote on popular stuff. They should seek to discover and vote for new stuff in the hopes that it will become popular when the whales vote after them.

I vote on content I like, screw the playground mentality regarding popularity. An organized school of minnows can be larger than any whale, minnows swimming in unison is a beautiful display, kinda like murrumming flock of birds, there is safety in numbers when you are small.

Agreed, great advice!

I love all the minnows I started with and with little to no support we are growing. But mathematically all of the minnow votes don't equal a whale vote. I also vote on content and once in a while just to support my fellow minnows!

learned something new today, thanks

You've made some good points, and I'm glad for that.
A lot of expressed concerns do get addressed, and many people are hard at work to make steemit a success.
For the time being, my role is to encourage people like crazy and generate many great posts.
We all have a vested interest in the success of steemit, and the whales and creators are definitely hard at work attempting to ensure the sustainability of our community.
If anyone can do a better job, they should.

I agree on that there are a lot of people who spend their upvotes on already popular authors, just because its possible to earn some. But than again i have seen many people to have a lot of upvotes for their introduction posts. And people who just made their second post etc. I guess it also depends on what kind of content you are giving others to see.

I have honestly never even read a lot of those "super articles".
There are probably a good pile of authors that make a lot here that I have never even seen or upvoted. (not intentionally, it's just how it has happened - plus I'll not bother naming names)
I'm just glad that we can all choose how we want to spend our time and our votes.

I'm so glad this is one of the first posts I'm reading. I was just thinking to myself as I checked "pay me in 100% Steem Power" on my first post....that I would be pretty thrilled to earn any money but I wasn't expecting it. Thanks for your perspective and encouragement. This is probably important for everyone on here to know and remember.

Thanks for that!
I just want people to understand WHAT WILL NOT WORK OUT WELL, so that they can choose more wisely!
Welcome to STEEMIT.

Check my 400 followers post for some more great info!

Nice one! I do feel sorry for a few who did commit "steemicide", but for the rest we got to remember this is a work in progress. I do see efforts being made to address attempts at gaming the system, which seems to rouse jealousy the most, but more awareness is needed among the users themselves if we are to make this a fair platform and prevent steemicides!.

Yeah, it's sad to see people go like that.

I'm also glad that so many people are working so hard to keep making steemit a better place.

Hopefully, the right encouragement, great improvements, and posts like this can lead to less steemicide in the future.

Another great post!
I knew you figured it out a while back and have been following you ever since!
And while my up vote still isn't worth much every time I UPvote, comment and post it gets more powerful! My UPvote just doubled the value of this post!
Blessings on your continued success!

Thanks man!
You have the proper attitude!
May you continue to be blessed too!

IDK, almost like you are trying to say people that have this tuff happen to them are wanting it when most the people do not want this stuff to continue no matter who it is done to.

Often, when people do these things, they are the ones who end up hurt, sometimes, even to the point that they can no longer succeed on steemit.
This is a warning to people that desire to avoid having this happen.
I have seen both intentional (self inflicted wound to the rep) and many kinds of unintentional ways that users end up destroying themselves here, and I'd rather not see it happen if that is not their goal.

Does that make sense?

It does but I have also seen misuse and abuse of the flagging system. Just look at what I went through because of a couple people that did not like my opinion.

I in no way want to quit steemit and this was because someone did not like my opinion.

This is the reason I think a lot of people have that stuff happen to them but in no way want to die/quit.

saying they want to quit sounds like n excuse to not deal with the real problem.

just my opinion though.

P.S. my ghost pepper plant has its first pepper started, its about the size of a pea. about 100 flowers about to open u in a week or two im guessing. I cant wait to start harvesting them! xD

I think that you are a good example of perseverance.

You could have gone off the deep end in response to what was occurring, but you kept your head pretty cool and persevered, which has granted you further success.

Too often, people in your position make the wrong choices and do further harm in a situation like the one you faced.

xD
Thank You.
It was because of people like you that supported me that kept me from getting looked at like that.

I did say some stupid stuff out of anger when i woke up 2 a rating of 2.

Yeah, but you did not continue to destroy yourself, you restored yourself instead.

A low rating is not all that difficult for the community to lift, if people are willing to change their tone and try again.

You are welcome, and thank you for being honest and sharing!

Haha great post. You mean I can't get paid simply for existing? Must be a scam lol!

Total scam.

I should make my next 50 posts about what a scam that is, maybe then I'll get paid.

In addition to suicide by bringing a knife to a gun fight, you can also bring any kind of weapon to a fight with me...

Did you lose a fight before??

I'm not trying to say anything, I'm just saying....

Cheating. We clearly said no use of lava. Clearly.

Oh right....

I missed that....

I never read the fine print.

Also, why does "the force" sound so much like "the farce"?

Is it fake, or like some sort of joke?

Because I do not want to update my lottery post to include it if it is not real.

As a minnow myself, only being on Steemit for a month or so, every point you made hits home.

I was lured in by hearing of huge success stories and I'll admit I was after the $$ at first. But only one of my posts has had a great payout. At times I felt bitter and wanted to quit. But I realized that isn't the right thing to do.
I am having so much fun just sharing some of my projects. It's rewarding just to see upvotes even if they don't pay out. And making connections with other people is a great experience.

So regardless of payout or no payout, I make a point of Steeming at least once a day and enjoying others' work and sharing my own stuff as well. I am here to build positive connections, not put other people down.

EXCELLENT!

Thank you so much for sharing.
I think that we all have been discouraged at times.
Keep it up and persevere... enjoy your time here!

Interesting point about whales downvoting, I had not thought about that. I'm a pretty conservative steemit user, but still, don't tip the bulls. https://steemit.com/gardening/@brownsgreens/selling-your-own-produce-essential-do-s-and-don-ts

Yeah, I just checked your post out.
Glad to see @luzcypher following you now too.
We've all got a lot in common!

Great article with sound advice. And the stick figure artwork is killer (pun intended).

Oh, I get it!

"killer" because they are ways to commit steemicide, right!

Great article! :)
I think it needs to be pinned up somewhere on steemit for new users.
Need to add the paragraph about what happen with users who lost the whales support temporary or permanently.

Perhaps I will create #nomorewhalelove and do a post about it.
Then people will have a specific tag for complaining about getting dumped by the whales.

I love you.

or rather... I love your post. LOL I don't want your S.O. kicking my ass or anything. ;) This is sound advice and I'm glad to see that 200+ people have read it. My favorite is the rage quite "noose" option. They go away for a couple days and then slink back like they didn't have a fit. Oh, the drama!
I personally like to keep my negativity to my fictional characters where I can kill them off without being on some watch list. :)

Ha!
Good call on the fictional characters taking the negative brunt!

Memo to fighters, ALWAYS take a CHAINSAW to a Knife fight . . .

ALWAYS take a RIFLE to a Gun fight ! ! !

Ah @crok, you could make an entire post with that information.
Thanks for chiming in with your advice!

Really good post, enjoyed reading it ;D

Thanks for the encouragement!
I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I woke up in a pool of my own vomit, next to an empty bottle of pills.

Again?

You really need to grow out of that phase.

Great insights and advice Señor Pepper. Noobies need to see this. But others who have been around the block a couple of times need to pause and reflect too.
This comment deserves $27.43, by the way. It just does!

There is no way that I am upvoting your comment at full power.

(even if I did, you'd still be $27.42 short.....)

That was very thorough. At first, I thought I was reading my post from yesterday when you were talking about entitlement.

I will have to check that out, but was previously unaware of it.

(Great minds think alike?)

Thanks!

Truer words haven't been written on here. I mourn the loss of many steemians who self destructed because of that entitlement attitude.

Yeah, it's unfortunate, so I thought that I would suggest "defusing the bomb" before it detonates and ruins them.

Thanks @matthewtiii!

I love your Hot Pepper Challenge entry!

I could relate my own story of bringing a knife to a gunfight, when I was seeing what I am sure I correctly assessed to be entitlement behaviour by a well heeled user. I won't change my mind about it but I changed what I did, and got a good start mending my fences by relating a somewhat analogical story about how Steem is like the Wild West.

Eventually, even, I won a vote or two from the offender in this case. Not as big as the loss I made from my mistake, with the downward slope of price in between, but, it's still vindication. Probably had I made such a successful post previously, I would have scored even more, but that's life, move on, learn the lesson and bend to fit the situation.

I'm pretty stoked to see that an idea that I was one of the first to actively do, the cute signature line, has been adopted as a marketing method by nearly everyone who is serious about blogging here. Yours is particularly special, @papa-pepper, and kudos to the artist who gave it to you.

Yeah, @vlad gave it to me a while ago, so I've been handing them out to newcomers.
I remember how special it made me feel.

Great story, and I'm glad that you are a quick learner.
Hopefully others can learn from these stories.

Steem is a great environment to build character. I think it probably will get a little more gentle as time goes on and social features are improved, but there will for sure be little storms as long as it exists.

I followed the link to his blog, and found something I liked, so I reposted it, as I could not resteem it, with ample credit given and meaningful commentary. https://steemit.com/usesteem/@l0k1/repost-of-vlad-s-hilarious-steem-meme

It can be a rough sea out there!

Great post but there is a need for original art forms to be critiqued on Steemit because mass love-ins stunt creativity and the outside world will just view Steemit art as a joke. As illustrated by my poem.

Agreed!
I'm not against critiquing, I just prefer not to watch people self-destruct!

You're dead sweet though and balanced. I failed to make a clear link between my comment and your post: I think it's the lack of critique that is contributing to frustration and Steemicide in less balanced individuals. Here's a little poem for you. Contains some swearing. Enjoy.

Papa makes a peppery point:
Rocking boats is never good
But it’s so fucking Stepford ‘round here.

Ensure you never fade to ghost and
Never make a drunken post
‘Cos it’s so fucking Stepford ‘round here.

Everything is fine and great,
Irreverence is off the plate…
This is all so silly…it’s just my head…This is all so silly…it’s just my head…This is all so silly…it’s just my head

I am going to save this page for my #refer-it channel
Go @papa-pepper
✅👍❤️🆙

Excellent.

I'd also rather have them talk to you rather than commit steemicide.

This may be your best post ever. Steemit is real work, whether in the form of gathering a following elsewhere and bringing them here - or creating here. There's no guarantee, no entitlement, no whining.

Thanks!

My "best post ever"?

Perhaps...

Might be a tough contest... but in the running, for sure.

Thanks for that!

This post should be recommended reading for all new accounts. Brilliant

Yeah, I posted it in #minnows for that reason.

And #howto as well.

Thank you for your comment!

Perfect analogy, great post. I've seen you encouraging newbies along, so I know you want them to continue on this Steem journey. It's not easy and sometimes it doesn't appear to be 'fair' -define 'fair'.
I look at it in the sense that I was writing on FB and on my other blog and getting nothing for that. Now...? Well, now I'm investing in something that's in its infancy and has MASSIVE potential. I think we are going to be looking back in years to come and thinking 'I'm SO glad I stuck to this!'
I'm not here for a payout now, I'm putting everything I earn back into SteemPower.

Excellent!

Quite a few good points there!

Keep it up, and thank you!

Stay away from bad, uhhhmmm, stuff. Wise words. Little guys like me who try to run with the big boys will get stomped.

I guess you gotta be careful everywhere!
Thanks @bmwrider!

Great article. I determined from day one to figure out what I could do to take as many people from beginners to success here as possible. It's been working well. I'm just grateful for the opportunity this site represents for a writer like me. It's been awesome!

Agreed, people like you make it a lot easier for others!
Keep encouraging and giving out advice!

+1 and resteemed papa...

Thanks for taking the time to share this. I think there are many many good points in the post that can apply to life in general.

Those that aren’t happy for someone else’s success will always resent it and likely spend more time worrying about other peoples business than their own.. Hence, they fail...

While those that rejoice in others success will likely learn from it as well, and therefore succeed..

my .02 anyway :)

ps: your drawings crack me up lol

Thanks for all of that @majes.

Very good insight on your part too.

I like to have fun with it and make my own, original images too, whether I have to go find an animal and take some pictures or if I'm just doodling on the computer!

(hey, a 47 already! Keep on growing my friend)

Yeah, caught a whale lol...

Carry on my friend, really enjoying your blog :)

Excellent - Catching a whale heading the right direction!

Nice work Papa. Great post!

Thanks @jasonstaggers.

When we use our own Kryptonite against out our (super)powers and strengths, only we fail.

Couldn't have said it better myself :)

I think you could have at least tied with me.

Very nicely written indeed!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks once again for your encouragement.

I think that it is interesting how much a simple comment like that means to me, after "all I've accomplished" on steemit.

How much more of an influence does that have on newcomers and those who are discouraged?

Nice job encouraging and mentoring others, @kus-knee.

AWESOME ! As always! I really like the contests! And ive won 4 small ones! There lots of fun, and the bigfoot comic of course! Great job and post! Reblogged! 👍💙😉 check out my most recent ( Steemit Blue ) post ! Its quite uplifting ! All things blue! https://steemit.com/steemit/@karenmckersie/im-feeling-steemit-blue-today. Not sad at all! Im just home with the flu! 😵

Thanks for that.
You've definitely been a great example of a happy steemian having a great time here while attempting to make a little more.
Keep up the positivity and steem on!

This is how I feel when I read this post and think of all the members who put hard work in to the platform.

We're like ninja turtles. Except there's thousands of us, Steem is our golden sewer tunnel, and we have two master Splinters; @ned & @dan.

Long live Steemit!

YES, THOUSANDS OF US DANCING FOR JOY AT ALL THAT IS GOING ON!

Thanks @senseiteekay!

Love that gif!

Great article and right on the mark!

Thanks, I'm glad that you agree.

Hopefully it helps some folks out!

There are 2 pages
Pages