You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beginner’s Guide to Commenting on Steemit: How to GROW your Account with FANTASTIC Comments!

in #howto6 years ago (edited)

I have been struggling with the idea of asking for upvotes. In sales that is called asking for the sale, not begging. So far I have not done so, don't think I will. I have noticed that people are quick to downvote something they don't like. I made a simple suggestion that people search a term on google and I got 14 downvotes. The most votes I ever had, up or down. I didn't get that. If they thought it was a dumb idea, then don't do it. If they were curious, no harm done by searching a term. Why did 14 people take the time to downvote a simple harmless suggestion.
I do have a habit of using links to video's. Because if someone has made a video that supports my point, why not use it if it will buttress my argument? I may not always add enough commentary to them. I will work on improving that.
I stated in my intro that I would not participate in vote for me/ vote for you schemes.
I like your suggestion about putting my handle at the end of a post or comment. I am going to start doing that.
I do need to improve my engagement. I will work on that. @thx1138

Sort:  

Yeah, asking for upvotes doesn't work very well on Steemit. It seems you make enemies quicker that way than friends. Sorry you got downvoted for that suggestion. Sometimes a simple tip can really help people out. I hope this will help you improve your engagement here!