Purple is the 2018 Color Of The Year

in #howtowear7 years ago (edited)

Purple-ultra-violet.png

Every year, on December, Pantone, a major color consulting company, chooses the color that will give the vibe for the next coming year. For 2018, Ultra Violet, a dark and deep shade of purple was the one. According to Pantone’s Vice President Laurie Pressman “it was chosen to evoke a counterculture flair, a grab for originality, ingenuity and visionary thinking.”

You can read more about the choice at https://www.pantone.com/color-of-the-year-2018

And if you like the color but it is not very confident on how to wear it, take a note: that shade of purple is a great choice to give a subtle and elegant splash of color in any of your neutral looks, from casual to formal, from business to social without risking to add way too much color. Just think about a purple tie to complement that black, navy or khaki suit and white shirt combo. Or some purple socks granting a bit of fun to that plain joe gray pants and shirt ensemble.

Other purple accents to consider: a hankie, maybe a sneaker or even a shirt, t-shirt, henley or polo in that shade of purple with neutral pants or bermuda shorts. And yep, you gotta it right: if you add just one piece in that lovely shade of purple to an otherwise neutral look you will be surfing in a safe wave.

I love purple. It is one of my favorite colors, so obviously I loved the choice. And how about you?

Sort:  

Cool! purple is my color! Really looking forward 2018!

I like purple. Prince wore a lot of purple, Lex Luthor likes purple, in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu purple belt may have been one of my favorite ranks grinding my way to black. As a general color, blue has always been my favorite but I think in my old age I have warmed up to purple.