Drive by

in #humanity6 years ago

I took a drive to the shop to pick up a few things for my wife and I. Pretty routine thing to do for many. On my home I take the corner at the gas station and 50 meters up the road from there is a young lady with about a three year old daughter sitting in her car crying on the side of the road. I pulled over to see what the problem was as we live in a very dangerous country and a woman and child on the side of the road is not a good thing for either of them.

This young woman was out of gas, cellphone out of battery life and no more money as she used what she had for some food for them. I told her to sit tight and went back to the gas station to get her enough gas to get her home after I had asked how far she needed to go. I didn't mean to lecture her, but did anyway on never leaving the house without checking the cell battery and vehicles fuel level. Sadly there are more and more people in that position in our country and I was on my way in that direction recently having had to take a different job in a dangerous environment just to keep my head above water financially. Must say that it breaks my heart to think that the world I live in has gotten so bad that people were prepared to just drive by the mom and daughter without batting an eyelid, people that are much better off then I am financially.

What has become of humanity, the greed and hatred is tearing at what we are suppose to be.

Just a little something to think on for this afternoon

Sort:  

It is a shame that we have to live in fear. Fear of being hungry, or jobless, or without medical care, or homeless, or for our physical safety.

Fear of the unknown keeps us from thinking clearly and making the best decisions, and none of us are immune form that.

Another fear is the one that prevents us from helping others. That is one deep inside of us that makes us deny that the person we see could easily be us, and we cannot face that, so we let the other person suffer.

Bless you, Pete, for helping.

Hi ya Willy. That is exactly it my friend. If it was me, broken down, no money, no way to call for help, small child in the car and too scared to think straight? If more people stopped to help, wouldn't the world be just a little better. Hope you well bud?

Doing well, Pete, and hope you are, too. Also hope the road ahead for you remains in clear focus and goes according to plan. I tend to get over-stressed when going through major life changes and I more easily put myself in the position of being in a stalled car with no resources and feel a strong empathy for those who need help.

Keep steady, my friend.

Alive and kicking thanks mate. I can't really say I'm not stressed, but it's a case of swim or sink. The civilized people of the world needs to do more to uplift each other in any way possible mate

Understood, Pete.

One related cartoon I remember from decades ago has a man and woman in a giant wicker handbasket. The woman asks, "Why are we in this handbasket and where are we going?"

We're all going to Hell in a handbasket!

Congratulations @petesays! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That will come back on you soon my friend. Karma is great.

Sweet bud. Maybe she did something really good and that was her karma coming back.