From Human to Amphibian

in #humor6 years ago

I recently watched the film "The Shape of Water" with my wife and ever since I have been telling her that I want to transition from human to amphibian. I am joking. Am I joking? She knows that I am joking. People that transition from human to amphibian would be called "Phibis" in short form. But then I thought about limiting the the self-identifying label of "Phibi" to human-amphibian transitions only... what if my dog also wants to make the amphibian transition? It is for this reason that I firmly believe that any living organism that transitions from their own class of organism to the class of organisms known as amphibia ought to also have the priviledge of calling themselves Phibis. The thought of my dog with gills and fins, and trying to bark underwater, is... amusing AND odd.

I sometimes worry that the name "phibi" too closely resembles (in speaking) the name "fib" and that it therefore carries the connotation of lying, that organisms that undergo the amphibian transition are therefore liars. I'm not certain if this point of worry is warranted. Any comments?