Swimming with Dolphins - Haiku - Goofiness personified

in #humor3 years ago (edited)

Swimming with dolphins:
they're far safer companions
than alligators.

Many thanks to my good friend, artist Boo Ehrsam, for the original share, which I might have missed, but my husband, Marek, placed it squarely on my feed.

And thanks for that, because I love BOTH dolphins AND alligators, but I definitely prefer to swim with the former.

Self preservation and all that.

One of the things I am most grateful for, in ALL respects, is my sense of humor, which was encouraged and nurtured by both of my parents, whose own senses of humor were delightful and often unexpected.

Much as is that of my husband, Marek, one of the few people outside of my immediate family who got my weird sense of humor immediately, as I got his, because we have so very many frames of reference in common, despite being from entirely disparate backgrounds.

My sense of humor has saved me in any number of situations, as even when the going got hardest, I remained able to see the humor in the situation, even when it was in fact a very dark humor indeed.

And, as was noted by the wonderful and inspiring Viktor Frankl, in his amazing and moving book, "Man's Search for Meaning," when recounting his time while incarcerated at the Auschwitz Birkenau concentration camp in Poland, at least black humor is still humor.

As he recounted, it was precisely when people stopped being able to laugh at their plight when it got a whole lot worse, because being unable to laugh, meant that they had lost, or were very close to losing, their will to live.

He said that, once a person was unable to laugh at what was happening, their death generally followed fairly quickly.

Which was especially sad because, although black humor indeed, the Nazis, as Monty Python later took advantage of, were practically begging to be made fun of.

In our case, we've been sending links back and forth, mostly via Messenger, which is still humorous to me because he KNOWS that I distrust Messenger, being part of Facebook, and I REFUSE to give either of them access to my phone.

What can I say, I've been a privacy advocate since before there WAS an Internet.

Anyway, among the links I sent him were two links to videos by "The Liberal Redneck," a favorite of mine, largely because he took a pilgrimage largely opposite to mine: whereas I was born and raised in L.A., and took a convoluted journey via Tampa Bay, Luxembourg (Europe), and back to Tampa Bay, and THEN to Middle Tennessee; he skipped the middle part and just went from his home base in Middle Tennessee, straight to L.A.

And he's freaking hilarious. Not to mention intelligent and insightful.

Here are the two links I sent to my husband today:

I apologize in advance to all the conservative Americans on this thread, but I've been a progressive liberal pretty much since I've been conscious, and to me, this is not just hilarious, but TRUTHFUL.

Deal with it.

Just like the rest of us have to deal with your stuff.

Because, after all, we are ALL Americans, and we're SUPPOSED to be on the SAME side, NOT buying into the lies of ANY politicians, who want only to divide us and conquer our CASH, while NOT providing us any benefits for their theft.

And #traitortrump is STILL soaking his followers for cash, ostensibly for his mounting "legal fees," but as anyone knows who knows anything about the guy, he is infamous for NOT paying his bills, and I can guarantee any cash "donated" to his cause is going directly into his pocket, because he has always been, and shall always remain, a grifter, and a conman to the end.

Trey Crowder, aka "The Liberal Redneck," is a national treasure, and yeah, I stand by that statement.

Yeah, a LOT of people in my area of Middle Tennessee will disagree with me, and that's okay, because I don't really care.

He's a national treasure, because he TELLS THE TRUTH, which is something that the VAST MAJORITY of Republicans, particularly trumpian Republicans, have FORGOTTEN HOW TO DO.

I'm an actual patriot who HOLDS MY GOVERNMENT TO ACCOUNT, doesn't buy into the bull from EITHER party, am an Independent voter, and I believe that EVERY government official who parroted #traitortrump's lies about the "stolen election" should be ousted from office and charged with malfeasance, at the very LEAST.

Thankfully, there are a few true conservatives left in the party, such as Liz Cheney and Lisa Murkowski, who, while I disagree with them strongly on policy positions, are also TRUE American patriots, who willingly crossed party lines and voted to impeach our former Grifter-in-Chief for his MANY CRIMES.

Meanwhile, some of the links my wonderful husband shared with me?

Here you go:

A few of the MANY reasons why we are a match.

We don't agree on everything, although we do agree more often than not, but we both have an excellent sense of what will interest the other, and on many occasions, of what the other might need to hear, hence why he sent me the Bashar video on handling grief in a more balanced way.

Yes, I'm still grieving my cat Bear, and little wonder, since he was an intimate part of my life for over sixteen years.

But when I think of him now, I smile, rather than cry, because he was SUCH a joy to have in my life, and I know that he had a wonderful quality of life until the very end.

I did not, and could not, allow him to linger on suffering.

Life is wonderful, and is getting better, better, and BETTER!

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it!

Love you all, take care, and be safe out there.
;-)

#earthtribe #tribevibes #naturalmedicine #tribegloballove #poetsunited #isleofwrite #tarc #yah #ecotrain #smg #ghsc #spunkeemonkee #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #music #rock #steemitbasicincome #bethechange #chooselove #photography #beauty #love #culture #peacemaking #peacemaker #friendship, #warmth #self-respect #respect #allowing #animals #community #unity #love

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

CommunityIIDiscord

Sort:  

Congratulations @crescendoofpeace! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 90000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 91000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!