Memes I feel compelled to share this week

in #humor3 years ago

Ever since I stopped FB'ing my life has improved dramatically. I miss out on a few things here and there like seeing my cousins' kids grow up and what not but since I haven't even seen my cousins in a decade and have never met their kids I suppose that is something I can live without.

I also get to miss out on all the petty an completely pointless political arguments that change no one's mind and just make enemies out of friends as they proceed to say the most awful things about one another in a public forum. Even since leaving FB (I still have messenger) I now use any downtime that I experience when waiting in line or in a cab etc to browse 9gag, which tells me nothing about my cousins or their kids but it does make me laugh and in many ways I think that is a lot better.

Here are a few that I found in the past week that impacted me enough to save them. Hope you like them as well!


197397690_780800085818415_4373389339420700118_n.jpg

Although I don't really care about boxing and haven't since the 90's when Mike Tyson was slowly losing his mind pre and post prison, it is impossible to not end up hearing about these stupid celebrity boxing matches that are making people a bunch of money because we, the public, are a bunch of morons that continue to pony up for them even though they are stupid. The Paul brothers were already insufferable jackasses but you can't argue with their ability to make money, that is for sure. Why Mayweather is getting involved in this doesn't really make much sense to me because the dude doesn't need any more money, does he?


200641054_488454782422988_8780519456822811151_n.jpg

I haven't been exposed to the ultra-sensitive American culture for quite some time and this is something I am very pleased about. However, every now and then someone pops up in the expat community that is from one of those "ultra-woke" parts of the USA that brings that BS over here with them and they get offended by just about anything. Needless to say I don't try to hang around them for very long.


196155345_517228452810232_3106177419761748022_n.jpg

I love Brooklyn 99 and this one scene recently has become a rather popular template for 9gag. While it is a gross exaggeration I can assure you that there are many many many many Vietnamese people named Nguyen. If you want to guess someone's name and have a great chance of getting it right, go with Nguyen.


196190859_1116225345455532_8237314316860278154_n.jpg

This one has a special place in my heart because when I was in college I lived in a house with 2 other roommates, one of which was very clearly gay and everyone knew it other than him - or at least he was suppressing it because he still dated women a bit. When he finally came out of the closet 6 or 7 years later, we were all like "you don't say!?!"


195793443_1135294720285028_5737076815293340546_n.jpg

I haven't lived in the United States for quite some time but I do remember that this response from "Mooskitt" is very true. For some reason, the Church's Fried Chicken locations were always in a really dangerous part of town and I don't know if this was just a coincidence or was part of their overall business strategy, it did seem to be the case though.


198791910_272828967917770_1737522181251886049_n.jpg

Back in the 90's we didn't have internet. Even once we got it in the early to mid 90's it was so slow that most people didn't even bother using it. Therefore, advertisements had to attempt to capture the excitement of a product in a single picture to be put in a magazine. This is not the only one like this but there were a lot of funny ones and I wish I could get my hands on a Sears catalogue from the 80's / 90's because it would just be hilarious these days.

By the way, is that kid playing Sonic the Hedgehog on a PC? That wasn't an option in '91.


167719249_442685547020198_6889365439352419810_n.jpg

Last but not least I present to you something that might be a meme or it might just be an actual quote. I have no idea if Jet-Li actually said this or not and I don't care enough to look it up. The point is that some people are absolutely terrible at conversation and I do this on a regular basis. Even if the person is saying something I disagree with, I will agree just to end the conversation. I like to believe I am pretty good at face-to-face conversation and here is a rule of thumb that I think the entire world would be better off if people followed it: If what you are saying takes longer than 20 seconds to say and you are not giving a powerpoint presentation at a board meeting, friggin wrap it up.

Got any memes to share back? I'd love to see them if you do!

Sort:  

Now it is clear why I have seen the Nguyen name with almost all Vietnamese people.

I'm gonna have to ask someone why this name is so popular. I honestly have no idea but it does seem to be the case!

All great. I can relate to the Church's fried chicken one. We have one in my city and you simply do not go there. Even the drive thru is a danger-zone.

To be fair to Church's, I have never seen one outside of a major metropolitan area and all of those have "bad parts of town." I would imagine if they have a location in smaller communities it wouldn't be so bad.

For some reason, the Church's Fried Chicken locations were always in a really dangerous part of town

Here in LA it seems that it's always Popeye's Chicken that's always in the hood. When I lived in Hawthorne I would stop by there on the way home from work from time to time, and there was always some shit going down in the parking lot. That spicy fried chicken gets people really wound up, I guess.

attempt to capture the excitement of a product in a single picture to be put in a magazine.

Haha, I never really thought of it that way but you are right. The ads were so exaggerated back then because they were trying to get that perfect 'still shot' of everyone losing their mind over how amazing the product was. Funny stuff.

The Paul brothers were already insufferable jackasses

OMG dude... I knew it was all a money making scheme, but I just wanted so badly for that asshole to get pummeled. I might have paid to see A Paul brother get in the ring with Mike Tyson, even at his age. They may be douchebags, but I guess they ain't that stupid.

Hey man! Nice to see a comment from you. I know you are busy and all. Hope things are well in your world.

About the boxing: It is only a matter of time before one of the Pauls call out Iron Mike and Mike will take the fight too and probably work pretty hard to make sure he doesn't KO them because he probably needs the money.

I'm good man, just really busy with the little one these days. He is a handful!

Sadly I think you are right about the boxing. I don't think we'll ever get the satisfaction of seeing these guys get beaten really badly because it's all a money making scheme from what I can tell.

Graciosos algunos memes en especial el de los videojuegos, recuerdo una prima en ese tiempo tenía una pc y su hermana menor y yo nos colocabamos literalmente detrás de ella mientras jugaba y hasta peleábamos por los turnos futuros, jajaja y no hablar de churchs pienso que es estrategia de marketing pura