The Old Dog Introduces: A Low Cost/No Cost Bug Catcher

in #humorlast year

I love all creatures great and small but that doesn't mean that they belong IN my house! Since I live on the edge of the forest a LOT of these 6 to 8 and more legged creatures seek out homes within MY home.

At the risk of destroying my reputation as a he-man I’ll admit that I don’t like picking up spiders, scorpions and the like in my hands. I need another humane and safe eviction method.

First Let’s Look at What’s Available on The Market

These are all kind of funky but they do look plasticky, fragile and gimmicky!

Now Let’s Take a Look at Mine (includes a step-by-step guide)

Step One: Identify the target. In this case a beautiful bug of unknown species!

Steps 2 and 3: Grab a clear glass jar. It doesn’t matter what was in the jar originally just make sure that you clean it out so that the bug doesn’t stick to any peanut butter, jam or whatever! Place it over the bug.

Step 4: Slide a stiff, thin, card stock (here I’m using a postcard it’s also symbolic as the bug is about to go on a trip) under the bug.

Step 5: Flip the jar over, walk to the nearest window or door and jettison the bug back to its proper place in the great outdoors.

Step 6: Place the jar and the card in an easy to reach place for its next usage!

Please note: I've been using the same jar and post card for about 6 years now and it still works great! The estimated number of bugs caught in this time is on average 5 per week for a total of about 1,560 bugs! Since I didn't pay anything for my bug catcher I am unable to give you a price per bug caught! Sorry!

Also note: The jar can break if dropped but if you're careful who know how long it will last? I've seen jars that are over 100 years old!

What Do You Say?

  • Do you like my invention?
  • Have you already thought of or tried the same thing?
  • If yes does that mean that I can't patent it?
  • What method do you use to catch indoor bugs?

Until next time,

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Sort:  

Just squish them. Less work.

My old technique and I've got wall stains to prove it!