Steemit exclusive...Photos during and post Hurricane Irma ravaged through St Maarten...

in #hurricane7 years ago

These photos are Steemit exclusive taken by yours truly as I tried to document some of my experiences during and after the Hurricane Irma in St Maarten. Special thanks to Sasha Bernard as she also took some of the photos. All these are raw photos, so please excuse the quality in some cases

The following photos capture shots in the apartment



The following photos capture shots outside the apartment


This one photo probably the most heart breaking as the wind toppled the entire second floor of a home of 4, leaving only the ground floor. Thankfully no one died

This is a photo of me grabbing whats left trying to figure out where to stay as we prepared for the incoming Hurricane Jose at the time. Thank God it went just North of the island, that's another story.

Extremely grateful that I made it alive and while things look gloomy I only suffered minor cuts and aches. I am still in soundness of mind as one of the neighbor went insane after hearing about the incoming Hurricane Jose. No matter how much you prepare for Hurricane, you are at complete mercy of nature. That building was supposedly built to withstand Hurricane force wind of up to 125 MPH but obviously it tanked. I took a look at the newly built airport that supposedly should withstand Hurricane force wind of up to 200MPH totally tanked reminiscing a dumped site. I am now reading quite a few comments online of people talking about they don't build strong building but Irma was just a freak. The vibration popped your ears and you are literally fighting to breathe from the vacuum that is created. The entire island felt the four tremors that just rock your belly giving nauseous feeling. Whatever the media reports and the articles written by experts, in this case you are just at the complete mercy of nature

Let me say a big thank you to @kid4life for his support during this difficult time.

I have another Dtube Steemit exclusive video coming up, capturing the beginning of the tail of the Hurricane Irma. For those who aren't familiar, Hurricane generally has three phases, the head, the eye and the tail. The head and tail are the most violent while the eye is usually the calm of the Hurricane, often mistaken by many to be the end of the Storm because it can last up to 45 minutes depending on the size of the weather system.

Your upvotes and support during this time would be greatly appreciated.

All financial help would be greatly appreciated. Accepting through the following medium
Bitcoin Wallet: 1Cau9AhRnfeVjr8cuJzdMEtAiJUP1JNdmK

Ethereum Wallet: 0xfe15B672805875454fC113B564F32ccD8A17c94A

Litecoin Wallet: LV4iqkB59mKfZ6M7LT8xfstkixyMNCqJQX

If you wish to help otherwise, feel free to comment below let me know.

Once again, thank you for all the love and support during this difficult period.

Sort:  

Wow, wow, I'm so glad you are uninjured my friend. My heart goes out to you and your family. I'm still stunned by your post, as I've never had a hurricane described like that before.

Yea, this one was a freak, i was at mercy of nature...the popping of the ears was a new experience and relentlessness of the wind to destroy everything in its path...this season has been crazy, literally all the islands taking a beating, I got friends that got evacuated to Dominica from St Maarten that I haven't heard from and the season isn't over until November...Its a great experience for the adrenaline seekers

"Its a great experience for the adrenaline seekers"

You can really spot a silver lining!

We have quite a diverse group of people, quite a few people want to experience the eye of a Category 5 storm, if that's their thing there no better place to be...for me I rather be as far away as possible on the upbeat since we are dependent on Tourism, we probably could explore that as our package, you just never know who would sign up for the package

Haha, Hurricane Tourism. I like it, but I wouldn't want to insure it!

hahahahah...if the cost of premiums are going to go up why not, it would be good business

Man, this is a total bummer, to put it quite mildly. You have my upvote and resteem, and I'm sorry I can't do more.

I will put a good word in for your post with anyone I know with stake to lend.

Thanks man...I appreciate it...Irma just flatten everything, most destructive I have experience, no one got spared and it was just relentless...they are still looking for people unaccounted for and waves just took entire building structure away nowhere to be found...i am just hoping this is only this year and not what is to come...

Wow, these photos look like they were taken in the aftermath of strong quake. I pray never to experience the full fury of a CAT5 hurricane. Hope you can recover quickly from this mess.

I won't wish that experience on my worse enemy, the entire island felt the shaking, it was truly a freak, we were extremely bless other concrete structures did not stand up so well...something is definitely off this season, the heat, intensity and frequency of these weather patterns are unprecedented...usually you have 1 major Hurricane now we have 4 and we not even half way out of the season...my hope is that this season is really an exception because we have to relocate millions of people, this is my third Hurricane after experiencing Ivan and Emily but Irma has broken all records...usually one island is majorly impacted but this season everyone is taking a beating with some islands being declared uninhabitable due to the destruction, we certainly need to have a discussion about these weather patterns and possible try to address any possible causes

There's a lot of conspiracy theories floating online about HAARP (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_Frequency_Active_Auroral_Research_Program).

I really hope there aren't more of these CAT5 in the next 2-3 weeks. What I find absolutely crazy is how quickly Maria went from a storm to CAT5 hurricane. It was in like less than 24 hours. That's insane.

If the science exist, then probably it can happen, I haven't done any due diligence into HAARP so I cannot give view on that but for Maria, storm at 5am and CAT5 by 5pm sounds like something from a science fiction movie. This Hurricane season would certainly give fresh perspective and the post analysis would probably give a better light of what is actually happening

Sorry you had to experience that dude but I'm glad you made it out alive and are doing good, all things considered!

Here's hoping that you guys get all the help and aid you need to help you rebuild your islands and lives!

Man I certainly hope, but from my previous experience (two previous), help rarely reaches the people on the ground, but i hope things are different this time around because the need is really great

It's such a shame and so frustrating to watch so I can't imagine how frustrating it must be on the ground. I know your island isn't a British territory but we're all left here wondering what's going on in the world when our own foreign aid can not be used to help our own islands such as Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands which were also devastated. As a result, less money and resources have been sent as it can't be taken from our 13bn foreign aid budget!

Best of luck for the future, I think you're long overdue some luck now!

Politics and politician, you know how they operate...Trinidad and Tobago are lending its hand so that's the bright spot, there are pledges from the Netherlands and France to help but these tend to focus on their people...America has Puerto Rico and other US territory to deal with...The other small islands that went for independence are just inflicting unnecessary suffering on their people...these Northern islands provided alot of opportunities to the entire Caribbean so there would be rippling effects felt throughout the Caribbean...things gonna be desperate for awhile as America close its door to immigrants, there isn't much place to run and these islands don't have any economic activity going...We would see how the insurance handle the situation but we definitely need some stimulus package because Tourism is everything...I wasn't impressive with how some of these mother countries reacted they were just focusing on their people and ignoring other nationals but I guess that the signal of protectionism, if you don't have papers then you are in deep shit and these are the people that work the hardest...some of these islands may stand a better chance with the Dutch but the British are very slow...I read the IMF is offering rapid credit line but most of these countries won't ask for help because of the terms and conditions...in these disasters you know which country got their shit together...just saddened that opportunities now are scarce with these islands struggling.

"because of the terms and conditions"

They might be quite correct to do so. International bankers are usually well-cloaked bloodsuckers.

On the flip side of things a lot of the economic mess some of the islands find themselves in are solely loans by these organization...we have a saying when dealing with them "better to ban your belly and suck salt" before accepting any package...Quite a few islands have gone under Structural Readjustment Program with the IMF, and within 5 years they are back to where to were and even worse in some cases...I am not to much of a big fan of their austerity policies crippling and causing unnecessary suffering...When you get a loan from them, they dictate down the salaries that public servants can get, added to that, the government of the day has to ignore the plight of their people to follow their guidelines...We are heavily dependent on Tourism, its bread and butter so its a tricky situation moving forward...We have some interesting politician in the region but very few are progressive or strategic so these bankers would always have them in their pockets and most of our institution are weak or heavily dependent on their funding so they can't shape policies or cause any meaningful change

"they dictate down the salaries that public servants can get, added to that, the government of the day has to ignore the plight of their people to follow their guidelines"

Yes, they effectively totally subvert any government that they are involved with. The cost of the loan is also sovereignty.

Very good artical...tnx sir

Glad to read that you weren't injured physically. I'm glad that Jose and Maria took a different path than Irma, not damaging the island further.

Yep, that was a blessing but alot of rain with no roof, so its added work to clean

Sorry to hear about the rain. Hopefully you enter a drier weather pattern until shelter can be made available.

My wife lived on the island back in the early 90's so it has really hit her hard to see the destruction of a place that holds fond memories.

Its turning into a humanitarian disaster...people are out in the numbers trying to see how they can help but its all survival and all neighboring islands got hit so the situation is very desperate...Alot of Caribbean nationals that been living on the island for years that have been left with absolutely nothing and it took 11 days before we got any water...food is limited as you know the island imports everything...they are evacuating people now but islands of Puerto Rico, Dominica and Antigua took a beating as well, so the situation is really mess up, Trinidad and Tobago is helping but the other islands are really stretch out...my hope is that people remember the other nationals there as well...the french side closed its border which was extreme if you ask me and the gasoline is ration now, so I really don't know...with Dominica and Puerto Rico taking the headlines now, this might as well be a dead story with the news now

Do you guys have cell service? My wife has been working with people on the BVI's thru a Facebook page for support. Has anything like that been set up? Is the Dutch govt still helping?

My family is looking to help in whatever way possible. Let us know what is needed most and who to get in touch with.

As for what is happening on the ground, nothing really is happening but the King has made a number of promises. Telem is working and chippe has been up and down(Cell service). The Dutch are doing assessment and I am not to sure about any Facebook page but I know Countries like Trinidad and Tobago has been evacuating its citizens as the situation on the ground has really deteriorated. The Dutch has been flying out their people, mostly varying Caribbean national remaining. There are accepting funding through official channels but with my experience of those things very little if any help actually reach the people on the ground. The insurance folks are doing their assessment so we see how things go

Thank God I don't live there anymore. I read somewhere that there was also a prison outbreak after the hurricane. Do you know anything about that?

Thank you so much for the exclusive photos and I will surely keep checking up on your status.

Stay safe.

I won't say there was a prison break but the prison in Pointe Blanche suffered the faith of most building and that contributed to the Curfew as they tried to recapture those that escaped...overall the authorities reacted well given their limited resources but the coordination was very poor, the French side close off its border which was extreme if you ask me as folks were trying to find out about the family on the French side...Which part you used to live? I am usually in the Cole Bay/ Simpson Bay area...I took out much more photos and video but my tablet took in a lot of water, got it service but its only booting up to the startup page...Long live St Maarten, gonna be heading down to Aruba once I get the paperwork done, I love the Dutch islands man, you should definitely visit but it would really take alot to get the island back up and running, quite a few folks are heading to Curacao and others to the Netherlands...

I lived on the opposite side, I believe called Phillipsburg. I was actually up the mountain living right behind the prison. I also lived in the hotel called Pitusa for a few months as well.

I do hope all this works out for good. Perhaps the steem community will play a role in rebuilding those islands. That would be nice.

Yes that certainly would be great, probably you can suggest hosting the next Steemfest in the Caribbean that would be great making, I can definitely try my best to bring some awareness and I am pretty sure it would be something that would be welcome here...you can probably throw the idea around in the upcoming Steemfest

Man glad to hear you and the people around you are alive. I look forward to supporting your story. May your words guide you and the people around you to safety, health and wealth.

I love to see people help!

Great job everyone!

@daudimitch brotha ill be sending $ from my post payout and some extra $. As much as I can. We talk in Discord if you need anything..

STAY STRONG!

Thanks a million man, well you were board from the beginning...I am heart touch by the love and support by you and @lexiconical as you continue to show support...just trying to see what move I can make

Brotha no need to thank me!

I feel for you! All I would want...

If I get in a jam one day... Be there for me...

... Please try to find a way to improve your position and inform me on discord if you need anything from my side...

Godbless U!

Thanks bro, I would certainly keep in touch

Hi daudimitch, I know that your in a rough time, dont worry everything will be back on track for you.. keep yah faith. Believe.. upvote and resteemed

Thanks alot man...One Love...I have been listening to Bob Marley song "Three Little Birds", so I am in good spirits, just trying to plan my way ahead, thanks for the love and support

My brother is has stMartin also he waits to be repatriated in France for several days, him to leave its house to return at our parent's but the island is completely blocked. Remain strong < 3

Yea, the airport is basically gone, it would really take alot, they are mainly focus on evacuating people out...the focus is the clean up and hopefully reconstructing quickly, I heard they want to reopen the airport within two weeks, but i think that wishful thinking...the french marines got the french side on a lock down

Horrifying images and description. I am happy you are safe!

Thank you for the support, I really appreciate it...I also have two exclusive Dtube videos that you check out capturing moments of Hurricane Irma, my way of raising some much needed funds...https://steemit.com/dtube/@daudimitch/pwdrvo4j and https://steemit.com/dtube/@daudimitch/aeglj09n
You can check them out, thanking you for all the support

I am soo very glad that you are fine buddy and managed to survive rhis disaster. Am also sad that many couldn't make it. Regards Nainaz.

Thank you for the love and support...Its very sad because after some 17 days they are still searching for people and the agony of family hoping for the best are futile at this point with all the time gone... I also did two Dtube exclusive videos that you can check out

the damage was really big... good thing you made it safe... Ill pray for your good welfare my friend

One Love my friend thanks and for the love and concern, I uploaded two exclusive Dtube videos that you can check out

Hey daudimitch, how are you? Did you find a Safe Place?

Yes I got a place for now...I am in good spirit, got to press on

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lexiconical from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you...appreciate it

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thank you...I appreciate it @drotto

the amazing photos you take and thank you for sharing I have followed you and may be health and safety always with you and your family

Thanks for the support...One Love my friend...I did two exclusive Dtube videos that you can check out capturing interesting phase of Hurricane Irma...Here are the links to them https://steemit.com/dtube/@daudimitch/pwdrvo4j and https://steemit.com/dtube/@daudimitch/aeglj09n

Amazing, sobering photos and story. I didn't know about the ear popping, but of course it makes sense. Please keep writing about St Maarten's journey to recovery as the media will of course move on to other short term stories.

I hope the Steemit community will be able to make a difference in the Caribbean on the long run. I also hope this becomes an opportunity to rebuild in a different way.

Aid didn't work for the people of Haiti after the quake. Is it possible to consider some kind of "rebuilding tourism" industry? Is there such a thing as adventure tourists who want to help with rebuilding and can package food, water, power, comms, etc to work with islanders to get the essentials up and running again?

You are all very much in our thoughts here in Africa. We feel quite helpless to assist practically so perhaps Steemit can help with mobilising some assistance.

I would try my best to cover as much of the story as possible, at the moment I have been evacuated from the island as things have deteriorated on the ground, we are still in the peak of the Hurricane season and its destruction in the Caribbean has been widespread, there are people who have been evacuated to Dominica and Puerto Rico an they have been recently devastated by Hurricane Maria, the implication of this Hurricane season would be felt for many years as Tourism is the only source of revenue. The Netherlands has pledge to support the Dutch islands and France with the French territory but that mostly it. Trinidad and Tobago has also extend its hand to help but limited in the amount that they can do. On a personal level its really just been my Steemit post upvotes in terms of financial support and friends and family have reach out to check up on me. My advice to anyone willing to help would be to get in touch with families an try an at least offer help to their children or love one with regard to sponsoring them out of the islands an assisting with school or probably helping them with the rebuilding of the homes. I have experience two previous Hurricanes an I can tell you the very little of any aid actually reaches the ground. At the moment I am good on food and water but in need of clothes and footwear and doing my best to raise some funds

Well, you gave super insight into what's going on on the ground there, @daudimitch. It must be unbelievably unsettling to be evacuated from your home. I'll check back into your posts for details of where you've gone and how the authorities are treating you and the other evacuees.

Indeed, the problem with aid is that very little of it reaches intended beneficiaries or produces tangible results within a reasonable time frame. Thanks for the advice to Steemians out there on how they can help.

We're rooting for you!

Thank you so much, I really appreciated the support, I would give an update soon but thank you so much for the love and support...extremely thankful for the support received

I realised a bit late I should resteem your answer - helpful for those wondering what to do and how to help!

Certainly, reach out to one person let them know that they are apart of your thoughts, if you have kids, and you in a position to assist with school, offer a hand, I think there are provision now for children to continue schooling in other countries or probably I can buy some material or make a box or package an send it to that person, it goes a long way...the Caribbean people are resilient people, our history tells the story, thank you for the awareness...I am always telling people about Bitcoin and blockchain here...a simple phone call it goes a long way

It turns out that "only top level posts can be reblogged". I tried three times from my phone and it didn't work - when I tried from my computer I saw the faintest of messages about it. Maybe you can rework this into a post. All the best....

Alright I would try to do that

Wow! Prayers for the victims and families.

Glad you escaped with only minor cuts and aches. Please keep us informed as the

Upvoted and resteemed!! Take care and good luck for the next one. I feel really sorry for all there and that i can't do more.
Take care!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @daudimitch to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

I very happy to.knknow that you are still.fine my friend

Thank you for the love and concern...I appreciate it very much

@nainaztengra got you a $1.52 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@nainaztengra got you a $1.52 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Thank You @nainaztengra appreciate it

thank God for your safety

Prayers and thoughts, also donations too relief work. Be well and stay positive.

Any upvote is helping. We got each others back

Voting up all your post

Sweet! Thx!!
Doing the same here