Hydroponics - RE-think Gardening!

in #hydroponics5 years ago

By now, you've probably heard about hydroponics. Merriam Webster defines hydroponics as: : the growing of plants in nutrient solutions with or without an inert medium (such as soil) to provide mechanical support. So how exactly do hydroponics work? Well, all you really need is a light source, water, nutrients and seeds. A pump is optional, but highly recommended. Plants will grow in just water and nutrients, however a pump will circulate oxygen in the water and greatly increase your plant's growth. But what else? The definition states to provide mechanical support. Basically, this can be anything that will suspend the seeds and eventually, the plants in the water so both the oxygen and nutrients can reach and nourish the roots.
People are geniuses. Or, rather some are. And they have devised many ways to create hydroponic systems. But if you want your plants to grow year round, it works best if the hydroponic growing can be accomplished indoors. Ahhh! Yeah - really, what looks good in your home, in your living room or on your kitchen counter? There are several systems that would fit the bill, but only one I would recommend on the basis of looks, functionality, ease of use and growth yield. That system is the Aerogarden by Miracle Grow.
Aerogarden 1.jpg

I started out about a year and half ago with the little copper-colored Harvest you see here. It soon became apparent that I needed more Aerogardens for two reasons:

1.) growth is so good in these Aerogardens that I wanted to be able to transfer plants that became too crowded.
2.) these little gardens are addictive!

I soon wanted to grow more!
Aerogarden 2.jpg

And MORE!
Aerogarden 3.jpg

And M O R E!!!!!!!!
Aerogarden 4.jpg

I am now the proud owner of 3 Harvests (Copper, Silver and White), 2 Sprouts and one big and beautiful, Farm Plus! I've also purchased a Herbie for my sister. All work great for their relative sizes and styles.

As you can see by the photos, I've grown a variety of edible plants, herbs and flowers:
Basil, Parsley, Mint, Thyme, Oregano, Dill, Cilantro, Leaf Lettuce, Kale, Arugula, Tomatoes, Peppers (my first attempt - good, so far!) and a variety of flowers which I have been able to transplant into soil to liven up my front yard or windowsill.

Aerogarden 5.jpg

Aerogardens can be purchased at Bed, Bath and Beyond, ACE Hardware and Kohl's. They are also available through the aerogarden website and of course, good ole Amazon. (Links below) Aerogardens make a great gift!

Resources: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/hydroponics
Links: https://www.aerogarden.com/
Link to Aerogarden page on Amazon: https://amzn.to/36W4vn2

Sort:  

@kiwibloke has set 0.500 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

None has won the bounty reward!

@kiwibloke has added 3.500 STEEM of bounty on this post!

This is good for places where it's difficult to grow plants in the soil

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow look at those beauties. And here all I thought hydroponics was used for was growing weed. Apparently the capabilities are endless..

A wonderful idea. As we age, getting out into the garden can be a real adventure! If you cannot get to the garden, then let the garden get to you! I have seen similar harvester planters at our local Palmers Garden Centre in Miramar, a suburb of Wellington, New Zealand. Just be careful that soil bacteria is not released into the air when you are disturbing the plants.

I do not keep any soil plants in my home at this time so I won't contaminate and infest the hydroponic plants. If I did get pests I would have to remove all my plants, sterilize everything and start again, but that would be a loss for me. I currently have 6 heads of lettuce, 2 heads of kale, 2 basil plants, 2 arugula plants, 1 head of Bok Choi, various varieties of flowers and 2 very promising pepper plants - that's a lot to lose! And I'm ALWAYS HUNGRY!!! LOL!

Wow, you really are passionate about your hydroponics! Good for you. I'll have a go myself, just on a much smaller scale to begin with. This form of food harvesting will become mainstream in the next few years, when vegetables become more expensive to be commercially grown outdoors.

I was not sure whether it is good or not to keep these plants this way and it will probably stay that way.
I just can't imagine that plants that have become accustomed to a certain element ( soil ) in millions of years will grow without any further changes.
Interesting to observe such a project!

@old-lady, This sounds like Scientific Plantation Process. And in my opinion in future we will going to see these kind of Techniques to more extent. Stay blessed.

Brilliant, unfortunately over time when I stick something in the ground it dies, usually it's because I forgot it's there. It is far kinder to leave the growing stuff to experts.


Wonderful photo's, great descriptions.

LOL! Fair enough - but, did I mention some of the gardens have a way to remind you? (of course, that's an upgrade and higher cost). You can even purchase a separate system that adds water for you when it's needed. LOL - have a great day!

Wooohoo, don't mind me, I just found a new Dapp called steem-bounty, I needed someone to test it on.


Everyday we learn something new!

Congratulations @old-lady! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!