A little more about me

in #iamalive2 years ago

Day 4: My dancing outlet

I was just thirteen or fourteen years when I started with dancing Javanese at the dance-school Kartika Budaya. And no it isn't sriempi or lehdeh. The official name is traditional Javanese dance.
Within the traditional Javanese dance there are different dance styles, some of them are: classic, Jaipong, Balinese, Sundanese and many more! The different styles originated from the different provinces in Indonesia. So next time when you see a performance of a Javanese dance, there is a lot more history behind it and it's not just dance. 😉

FB_IMG_1636866542098.jpg

Dance........ for me is an outlet to express my emotion, it's a feeling. When I had a stressful and hard week and I go to our weekly gathering. The way I feel after is just relaxed. Sometimes when I'm performing I m soo in my feels, I forget some steps🤭🤭. HAHAHAHAHA. There are times I almost fell during a performance. Or I get bruised. It's all part of the process. One of the most stressful performance of my dance journey was Carifesta XI opening act. And one of my best performance was when a Indonesian artist came to Suriname and we were dancing backup.
At the end of the day enjoying what you do is the most important thing.

FB_IMG_1636867741841.jpg