📚Mangrove education📚|🍃 Marvelous mangrove and more🏖|IAAC#5

a.jpg

At this stage in my life I have just accepted that mangrove education is something I will be doing till the day I die. This is me on my 26th birthday after a fun day with kids learning about the watercycle. I was able to do this in Galibi, Suriname because I got to support Green heritage fund Suriname with their environmental activities in Galibi.

I have been doing mangrove education ,primarily for children, since 2016. It is something I love doing and I have been fortunate to enough to be able to support environmental activities with this skill. Well it all started somewhere.

The Marvellous Mangroves Pilot
Back when I was a student studying environmental sciences, I took every opportunity I could get to get out there and learn. That meant any time there were volunteers needed on a project, I would jump out of the crowd yelling " I volunteer" like Katniss Everdeen from the hunger games.

So this one time an opportunity presented itself. They were looking for volunteers to participate in a mangrove education workshop that was going to be held in the district of Coronie. Ofcourse I volunteerd.

The university's budget was shrinking at the time so they had a policy of not allowing travel during the weekends. It meant they had to pay their drivers overtime, which they were not a fan of.
This in turn meant that we could technically not follow the whole workshop as it continued into the weekend. So the initial plan was only do part of the workshop and leave before the weekend.

So we arrive in Coronie. We(4 volunteer students) were asked to help out with the preparations before the elementary school arrives. So we were fetching buckets of water, putting things into place. Not really having any idea of what would happen next.

We were lead by Martin Keeley a very experienced mangrove educator. He lead the activities. Everything that was set up was mostly for games related to the watercycle, mangroves and biodiversity in the mangroves. Truth be told that's how I learned about magroves. It was a lot of fun.

On the second day we the volunteers were given the task to do the activities with a group of children who were not able to participate on the first day. So yes day 2 we got the responsibility of doing it ourselves.

And then the weekend was coming up. So we students needed to leave. I was just. I was not done. I asked if I could hitch a ride to the city with other's in the weekend. So I stayed behind to help complete the workshop. I was the only one that stayed behind.

That was my very first time doing mangrove education.

FB_IMG_1658972341673.jpg

Martin Keeley is an expert mangrove educator. The mangrove action project is an organization that developed a curriculum on wetlands, because they were under treat and ignored in traditional curricula. Martin has worked tirelessly to adapt the marvellous mangroves curriculum to 15 different countries. These days Martin is still active in mangrove education. To follow his more recent activities you can follow his new organization where he works on mangrove education in the Cayman Islands.

Mangrove education was there for me too
Every time Marting visited Suriname for mangrove education, I had to be there. After I finished my thesis, there was about 6 months of unemployment. I felt horrible and worthless. And it was Martin who gave me a pep talk. I was starting to feel like I was not capable enough to get a job. Martin reminded me that I help make things happen and that I am not worthless. He coached me on how to handle job interviews and wrote me my first recommendation letter.
This is endlessly appreciated and helped me in my professional career tremendously.

One of the ways I get to do mangrove education these days is by suppporting Green Heritage Fund Suriname with activities. I am in turn also thankful that they provide transportation and other materials needed. I will be leaving with them tomorrow to the other districts to do mangrove activities with kids. So looking forward to it.

To be clear mangrove education has been mostly volunteer work. There were only some instances where I actually got paid. I will always find some way to keep on doing it😆

Sort:  

Hello @lucianodoest. It's nice to read about projects like this one and congrats for doing what you do.

I see you're new on Hive, so let me drop you a few suggestions to help you navigate better on our platform.

We have different communities on Hive and we're encouraging users to post in the right community based on the topic of the post. This post for example would fit better in ecoTrain community. Check it out and join if you think it's right.

OCD is for topics that don't fit in any other community and should be used when you don't find a niche community for your post.

Here's a guide I put together to help you learn about how communities work and why you should use them -> Communities Explained - Newbie Guide.

Once you posted your post in the right community, you can then cross post it to OCD community. Here's a guide about cross posting.

Please don't delete any post with the purpose of reposting it in another community as that can be considered abuse! Leave this post here, you'll get it right next time.

Let me know if you need any help on Hive and good luck :)

Hi there @erikah thank you so much. Yes I am new here. I have been reading around about the communities still kind of having doubts in which one I actually fit in. I am also new to blogging. Still reading up and figuring things out and doing my best to write every day.

You're welcome! Reading and getting used to communities is the best thing to do when you're new. I know there's a lot of information at first, been there, done that, so I understand but don't worry as you'll get used to it in time.

Happy blogging and let me know if you need more help :)

Congratulations @lucianodoest! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It's very obvious you are having lots of fun with what you do and I can see you've learned from one of the best in the field and that is a very good step to growing.

I hope you got a job after the training and recommendation letter, I'm very positive you will do exploit.

I found this post from the @ocd curation report.

Happy new month to you @lucianodoest 🌹.

Thank you so much. A happy new month to you too❤️