You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Graphics Category Weekly Report - Week 3, 2019

in #iamutopian5 years ago (edited)

@nilfanif @tykee great greetings to all within the UTOPIAN community, I would like to thank for the support of my contributions, however I would like to talk a little about my perspective regarding the drop in contributions.

I have little more than a year in utopia making contributions in graphics, thanks to that I had the opportunity to meet and talk with other designers who are dedicated to this, and in the end we all think the same. It would be important that you, as members of utopian, ask and deepen why the contributions of the graphs have dropped to such a level. I personally have some hypothesis about it.

You have to be clear that the majority of people who participate in utopian are for the economic benefit that this presents, however there are others that we are just for the simple fact of increasing our portfolio of designs and letting us know. some of the designers with whom I have talked have told me that they did not publish more in utopian because of the fact that they have seen contributions with some errors that have received higher scores with respect to better elaborated contributions, this discourages many. On one occasion this was converted into discord chat and the response from utopian was intransigent and inflexible, at that time two great designers reused the contributions.

the level of demand for contributions is very good, however, things are taken into account that in my opinion do not make much sense. If I make a contribution to a project that is in development and does not have many stars then I receive less points, this because? In my opinion, the best contribution that can be made is to those small projects that are starting and do not have a full team of work and depend in many cases on those contributions that we make, in many cases I have got great projects without a logo that when offers the contribution deny it because within their team there is a contracted designer, because this makes contributions to large projects is increasingly difficult, this is another negative point that has removed many utopian designers.

to me personally I have rejected contributions because they are projects that are starting this is something meaningless, because in some way I am contributing to the development of open source.

Another important point is that the design tasks are very scarce if I remember the last one was done last week, a task for 20 designers (to give an example) and if the owner of the project selects the worst design that is the who receives the utopian vote. I think this does not encourage anyone, it is better to explore github and get projects that do not have a logo so you do not waste your time (which is very valuable) making the design and ultimately not receiving the utopian vote.

I think they should explore the past a bit and see the conditions that were in that moment where they made 20 or even more graphic contributions and determine new conditions for that volume to be repeated, since that helps the utopian project grow as well as helps contributors to grow inside steemit. with this I do not want to create a discord I simply want to give my constructive criticism and give my perspective from the designer's vision towards you.

A big hug to everyone and I hope to continue reading in the future.

PD: I apologize for my bad English I'm from Venezuela and it costs me a little English ;-)

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback @richardbmx, yes we saw a lot of contributors went away because the price of steem keep going down (and thanks god it's rising at this momment😊)

I admit that the questionnaire is not perfect, but hey, utopian just released a new set of questionnaire and we hope it well help to score the contribution properly.

Also, we really appreciate people like you who stick in to this platform and keep improving yoir portofolio :)