TIME WITH DR. AKOSUA AGYEIBEA AYEH

in #ibreakgh6 years ago

IMG-20180724-WA0001.jpg

GOOD AFTERNOON

Good afternoon

TELL US ABOUT YOURSELF

My name is Doc Akosua Agyeibea Ayeh. I was born in the year 1981, I started basic school at Christ the King and went on to Holy Child Secondary and then went to Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (Tech) to offer medicine and after graduating from medical school, I worked at 37 hospital, ridge hospital and currently at Madina Polyclinic. I am also doing a post graduate program in family medicine and a CEO of a health company. I am married with two (2) children and also a resident pastor of Empire of Prayer Ministry. That’s basically all about me.

PLEASE TELL US ABOUT YOUR PERSONALITY

I am an introvert. I am 85% melancholic; I like to keep things to myself a little so a lot of people misinterpret that to mean unfriendly but if you get to know me you realise that’s not how I am.

WHAT IS BEING A RESIDENT PASTOR ALL ABOUT?

You are in charge of administration of the church

WHAT DO YOU LIKE MOST ABOUT YOUR WORK?

Being a pastor and a doctor are both callings. It takes a calling to execute a doctor career. When God calls you and you heed to the call, He gives you the grace no matter how tough it is. I love the fact that I have the grace to meet people’s challenges to make them better.

WHAT MOTIVATED YOU TO CHOOSE YOUR CAREER TO BE A DOCTOR?

As young as 7 years I was interested in medicine. There was this man who used to pound fufu for us whom I used attend to his health needs. It was very easy to choose medicine when it got the time for me choose the course I had to do.

WHAT WAS YOUR DREAM WHEN YOU WERE GROWING?

My dream was to be the best in whatever I do

DID YOU FOLLOW ALL YOUR DREAMS AND ASPIRATIONS?

Some of my interest changed along the line but I believe everything works together for our own good.

IF YOU GET THE CHANCE TO CHOOSE ANOTHER CAREER, WILL YOU?

Will 100% go for medicine again

WHY?

Because that is me

DID YOU HAVE ANY CHALLENGES IN THE TERTIARY SCHOOL?

Definitely. At first we had to stay home for 2 years before going to medical school, by the time you get to school your brain is a bit dormant. I remember first year was really challenging, I even failed a course in the first semester but then I pulled through by the grace of God.

WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR CHALLENGES AS A FEMALE LEADER?

I believe abilities has nothing to do with your gender. People misinterpret the quote in the Bible that the man is the head but that is in the family. Our God is a God of order and doesn’t want any chaos in the family. Once you move out of the family to the corporate, your ability has nothing to do with your gender. I don’t see myself as a "female doctor", I see myself as a Doctor. People address you “Aunty Nurse” but I am not moved by those things and some people expect to meet an old man as a doctor to attend to them.

FROM WHAT WE HEAR ABOUT PASTORS, WE KNOW BEING A PASTOR IS NOT EASY. WHAT ARE YOUR CHALLENGES AS A FEMALE PASTOR?

It is also not easy. Working with humans is very tough. I was a doctor before I became a pastor so I am able to manage people, I almost always expect some reactions from an action taken. Humans are very complicated so it is best you listen to God. Sometimes humans can pull you in different directions but if you have resorts and you know what you want and you understand the mandate given to you, it becomes better. Sometimes some people get offended and decides to leave church and a whole lot of excuses and in all you need to talk and pray for the person so he or she doesn’t go astray. The things people say about you is disheartening. Sometimes the people you go the extra mile to help are the ones who are ungrateful.

HOW DO YOU OVERCOME THESE CHALLENGES?

I believe when God calls you, He gives you the grace no matter how tough it is. Throughout the challenges, I look up to God. There are times you wonder, “Is this really happening?” God is always there for you no matter the situation. He’s been my motivation and strength through it all.

HOW ARE YOU ABLE TO MANAGE THREE CAREERS AND YOUR FAMILY?

It’s not easy. There are times you feel one side lacks your attention but I try as much as possible to make enough time for all. I rely on God for strength and as I said earlier, when God calls you, He gives you the grace no matter how tough it is.

DO YOU BELIEVE THESE CHALLENGES MAKE WOMEN SETTLE AS HOUSEWIVES?

I believe it may be a reason but I believe things are evolving and women are making it so that shouldn’t stop you from doing what you dream of doing.

DID YOU MEET YOUR HUSBAND BEFORE OR AFTER YOU BECAME A CAREER WOMAN?

It was after

IS IT TRUE MEN FIND IT HARD TO APPROACH CAREER WOMEN?

I believe any man who is like that is just not confident enough. I think it is our cultural structure and insecurity. The man is supposed to be the head and they think if the woman is ahead of him in education, career and finance etc. then he won’t get his wife to submit to him. I don’t think there is any cause for alarm if the woman fears the Lord.

IN CASE OF EMERGENCY WHICH OF CAREERS WILL U ATTEND TO FIRST?

It will depend on the type of emergency.

FINALLY, WE WANT YOU TO ENCOURAGE THE YOUNG ONES.

I believe God has a purpose for bringing everyone on this earth. It doesn’t matter how you start just that never lose hope. I know classmates who were not known but are now making it life. Any time you go through trial or hard time, know that you are going through it for a reason. No matter your background, always persevere. Never get away from your source. My source has been God through life.

WE WANT TO SAY WE REALLY ENJOYED THE INTERVIEW AND WE LEARNT A LOT FROM YOU. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

Sort:  

Upvoted and welcome to Steemit

We are glad to have you on steemit. This is the best blockchain you could ever find.. You are however invited to follow and get the best from @wafrica ..resteemed

Congratulations @arnan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!