Iceland Adventures 04: South Iceland Coast Trip

in #iceland7 years ago


I had the opportunity to explore the south part of Iceland from Reykjavik down to Vik, a small town in the southern tip of Iceland. Again as mentioned in my Reykjavik post, "vik" in Icelandic means bay, so the small town of Vik simply is Bay.

I took the tour with Extreme Iceland, though since July 2017, the Extreme Iceland company has merged with another tour company, Arctic Adventures, so I cannot comment on how future tours will be like with these companies as the current tour guides have told me that series of tour guides will be let go or quitting due to the changing nature of the company structure and company culture.

That being said, my review of the tour will outline my journey from Reykjavik town, to the first waterfall at Seljandsfoss, to the second waterfall at Skogafoss, to the black sand beach at Vik, and the glacier hike at Solheimajokull.


(photo above: Seljandsfoss Waterfall)


(photo above: Seljandsfoss Waterfall from the distance)


(photo above: Solheimajokull glacier from the distance)


(photo above: Beautiful Icelandic grass fields)


(photo above: Black sand beach at Vik)


(photo above: I randomly ran into my travel friend, Moises who I first met in Berlin a month ago prior to coming to Iceland in August)


(photo above: Solheimajokull glacier, the sign is where the glacier used to start. You can see how much has receded since 2010)


(photo above: Me prepared to glacier hike Solheimajokull. It's required to have proper gear such as waterproof jacket, pants, hiking boots that can fit crampons. It amazes the amount of tourists who think they can hike the glaciers in regular sneakers. So stupid of them!)



Have you gone glacier hiking before?


_______________________

Follow me @hustletoparadise 

to stay up to date on my travels around the world!

Sort:  

Just whoo again! like the pictures, keep them coming my friend

Looks so beautiful there, you should have fun. Thank you for sharing this beaoutiful pictures for us. @hustletoparadise

Wonderful shots @hustletoparadise ...Blessings

Epic photos! Hope I get to visit some day