The passion of the ICO marketer

in #ico6 years ago

About a year ago, I was hired to write a video sales letter.

This was for a Clickbank product.

(Clickbank is the main hub for affiliate marketing, and while there are many legit products being sold through Clickbank, it also attracts a lot of hypey or downright scammy marketers.)

Anyways, I had to write this VSL for a health book.

At first, I wasn't feeling inspired by the book itself. After all, it was for a health condition I had never even heard of prior to this job.

It also looked fairly cheap and contained info that I thought you could find with a quick Google search.

But then I interviewed the author, who told me how he has been treating people with info from this book for the past ten years.

And I read the hundreds of testimonials from grateful customers who had benefitted from this information.

And I warmed up to the idea of promoting this book.

In fact, I got downright convinced this information was valuable and needed to make its way out to the public.

And this conviction and passion carried through in the video sales letter.

While this book had been selling steadily for the past 10 years, the new and improved VSL helped this product jump up about 30 spots in the total ranking of Clickbank bestsellers (by gravity), from around spot 60 all the way up to around 30.

Now, I've read or heard about the importance of passion in marketing from many top level marketers and copywriters, including David Garfinkel, Mark Morgan Ford, and Doug D'Anna.

For a long time, I resisted accpeting this, because I'm allergic to the word "passion" and because I felt I couldn't summon up passion for a random product or service.

But what I realized after writing the VSL is that passion comes from deeper research.

Of course, you cannot convince yourself that a bad product or service is great.

But if you are advertising something legitimate, then you can build passion for it by doing additional research.

How is it helping real people?

How is it different from the competition?

Why is it better than the competition?

Why should somebody get it now rather than later?

Once you dig in and start answering these questions in depth, passion develops naturally.

How does this apply to the world of ICO marketing?

A lot of ICO marketing has what I would call "ersatz passion."

By this I mean a lot of exclamation points, power words, and fake urgency.

I doubt it's effective. I personally rarely find myself excited by copy in the ICO world.

And I think genuine passion for the ICO and the idea it represents would go a long way.

It's completely possible to build this passion.

It just takes some extra work.

John Bejakovic

P.S. If you have a legitimate ICO and you need copy written with excitement and passion, you can get in touch with me at the link below:

http://bejakovic.com/contact