Sort:  

Most of the work is done; just copy pasting the raw text and pasting in the new ones as they come up should be manageable (for a while) but I would love suggestions on automating the process somehow...

I wish I could help you with that, but I'm a dummy when it comes to programming. I do everything the slow manual way myself.

I would suggest creating a collaborative community of slacktivists that are happy to share a few good posts they came across publicly or privately to be added to a weekly post like this. you can do a lot on your own, but many people that share the same vision as you, can share the load and help to adjust to the glut of material that will likely come in as the platform expands. Steemit may also advance/evolve in the months and years to come, making these efforts unnecessary.... but in the meantime, the manual mining of ideas is a thankless task for those consciously participating in the ideas economy and one that is appreciated by the likes of me and many others. So thank you!!!

excellent idea!
I think a similar letter collaboratively made through a google doc or such posted via the @steemitbc account could be a great thing.

As to a thankless task, if you are doing it for money probably yes :)
My aim is to build a community of likeminded authors around my curation goal so it is just sharing bookmarks.

I would very much like to see others executing their own version of this idea around their own curation goal. It would make finding interesting content on Steemit.com much more fun. Especially discovering new authors and content.

Currently everything is ruled by the upvoting game. Although the intention of that is to allow good content to the top, it is definitely not working as intended yet.
If good content received many upvotes, it is more of an exception than a rule...
Long term I think the upvoting gaming is besides the point anyway. Building a loyal and real following here will almost guarantee you a decent income in the medium term I think. Especially because the SEO value of the content you generate will help you be discovered from outside steemit as an author.

libraries are full of spam