You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Can We POSSIBLY Hope to Make Progress as a Species When...

in #idealism6 years ago

Truthfully, I feel as if 90% of people have good intentions and are stand up people just looking to contribute to a greater community and progress both themselves and their families.

However, at the same time, we have a 10% portion of humanity that is a chronic pain in the ass that interferes with progress. Deceitful, conniving, selfish, and willing to lie, cheat, and steal from the aforementioned 90%. It also seems reasonable to assume that these 10% are more inclined to gravitate towards positions of power, influence, and fame (really out of need for attention) in order to affirm their egos.

Just my two cents, I still believe the good guys win out the war while the bad guys are given the advantage in winning certain battles in our society. I've noticed engagement lacking in my posts as well, a shame as that's really what keeps me going. As they say, patience will prevail. Best to you in Denmark.

Sort:  

Not sure about "good" and "bad" as those tend to be very nebulous ideas. But perhaps what we have are a majority who think beyond themselves and a minority who cares ONLY about themselves. Which does set up a dodgy dynamic.

I think we may also have different life beliefs at work. Some people authentically believe we live in a world of scarcity, which leads them to hoard whatever they can; others believe we live in a world of plenty... so there is no need to hoard because there is always going to be "enough."

Egos tend to be driven by fear... the fear that what appears to be big/strong is in fact just a veneer over uncertainty and a dubious sense of self.

Last, just a minor point of order: I am Danish and was born and raised there; lived in Europe till I was 20; but now call the US Pacific Northwest home. Many of my "musings" here are the result of my "bi-cultural" nature questioning things.

Exactly. "Good" v "bad" is painting in broad strokes to say the least, but I stand by my view that there are those who are only concerned with themselves and serve as a drag on total progress, whereas the majority have good intentions.

@phoneinf I had to laugh at your last sentence: "People at the top are usually extremely win-win that's how they got so far." Let us agree to disagree, my friend. I imagine we are not referring to the same people, which is fair considering this is all over text with no body language for context.

This good guy and bad guy view is very weird way of looking at people. I just look at them as people that try to do the best they can. But we are all born into various systems that shapes us. And the reason why people go for power and influence is because of survival and that many enjoy it. Life is competition and survival of the fittest. And everyone wants to get into a better position!

99.99% have good intentions since it's how we are wired. Life is getting better and more abundant all the time. Since people have good intentions. Most is not stealing but creating new value. People at the top are usually extremely win-win that's how they got so far.