What do you collect?

in #ideas3 years ago

Hi,

I was cleaning some of my stuff at home and by mistake have stumbled upon a collection of old books I have packed for a time when we would move to a bigger home.

We are still selling and giving away stuff that we don't need. It will take probably 1 more year to have a lean home as wished. it goes slow as I check every document, file it or dispose it.

But nevertheless, let's go back to the main idea. I've found the old books today. Will still leave them packed and stored as I don't want them to deteriorate.

I've found also some other stuff, like old stamps that I want to sell. They have been chosen for a flip, but due to Covid-19 I'm stuck with them at the moment.

We as humans tend to collect stuff, some collect memories and some collect wives for example. I've collected a lot of sh..stuff in the past years.

Now I'm focusing on collecting something of value, which can be given to my son in the future.

I have a lot of stuff, from stamps to movies, from books to coins. I now, try to sell some of it.

We switch now into asset collection, like shares cryptos and real estate. Also we will keep the silver coins and the books. I've had some ideas to buy art or whiskey, but here I'm not an expert.

What do you collect?

Sort:  

Memories. I have a house full of stuff, and most every thing not used in the actuality of keeping the place is attached with a memory.

As I look just around me I see a practice (inert) hand grenade, a machined out of a block of aluminum Porsche, my mother's HS graduation picture, 2 50th anniversary cans of beer (remember I don't drink) from the Sturgis Rally now 25 years ago, a bottle of coke from the Atlanta Olympics, 2 corvettes and a '32 Ford. That is right beside my desk :)

I think you get the idea. We haven't gotten to the motorcycle wall or the bookshelves right here...

I do have some old books, but I changed to reading ebooks years ago. Much better for the stability of the house ;)

My collection is yarn - about 35 kilometers in it. I haven't updated the spreadsheet for some time. But as I knit and crochet (and probably start weaving after christmas) I don't feel bad about it. I'm far from SABLE (Stash Accumulation Beyond Life Expectancy).