Identity Politics in my Face

Outlook

  • I am not a victim.
  • I support freedom to associate and not associate.

What happened

I was hired for a Python coding job, worked a week in good faith, and was praised for that work.

And then, after that week of work, right before contracts were signed, they told me they found my libertarian writings and didn't think I'd be a good fit with their company culture.

I've shared this with multiple friends. Some are irate. Some empathize. Some sympathize. Some are surprised. Some recommend some form of retribution.

Freedom to dis-associate

I'm a fan of the freedom of any entity, individual or business, to require no excuse to dis-associate with any other entity. That company did not owe me a job. I see it as unfair of me or anyone to expect them to put their preferences aside.

That said, yes, it is disappointing and a little bit alarming that things have gone this far and - I expect them to get worse before they get better.

Moving on

Maybe I can find someone more libertarian minded to work with. I don't require (maybe; I need to think more on this) them to share my ideology but it would be a huge bonus! I was just telling a friend that I'd take half my rate to work for a company who's mission I agree with.