You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For Your Protection: Why Every Steemian Should Take 5 Minutes to Claim Their WEKU Account!

in #identity6 years ago

Hah @frot! Another flightless bird, indeed — I like the implication! Just a shame we have to engage simply to protect ourselves from potential scams and abuse.

But hey, the world of anything crypto related seems to be "The Wild Wild West."

You Kiwis managed to be one of the ONLY places in the world whose own internal sales sites told eBay to go fly a kite. The only other country I can think of that did that is Sweden, with their "Tradera."

I'm guessing it will end up with a bunch of spammers, a HEAVY Asian contingent and a "core" of some ambitious Steemians who can keep up with multiple blogs.

Wait...

You've cloned yourself at least a couple of times... nevermind...

I think it's good for us to check out these "alternatives to Steemit," simply to have more appreciation for the fact that we actually have it pretty good here, relatively speaking.

Sort:  

I read once that there are seven countries that don't use Ebay - Aussies do but they all keep trying to sneak onto Trade Me - it really is way better (we use it every day for our business) - it's been a big deal here since 2002.

https://www.trademe.co.nz/Members/Listings.aspx?member=6020648

I'm not going to bother setting up my other account names on Weku, one will do, I'll never use it anyway.

Although we are having a bad run at the moment, I really do prefer Steemit to anything else I've seen (yes even Steempeak because the feed is so hopeless)

Whereas I do spend a fair amount of time with SteemPeak, it's mainly because I really like the "drafts" feature... and the way I write, I often have 10 posts in the works, at any one time. I still access Steemit directly.

Steemit still holds a great "first to market" advantage. Even though Dan was talking about running a "Steemit 2.0" on EOS, the longer getting that going drags on, the "stickier" Steemit will become... people will be more and more reluctant to leave here, or to use any other site as anything more than a "Beta location."

In some way, though, I encourage people to join and explore these various "alt" sites... mostly because it WILL show that Steemit is actually far less screwed up than we think.