Illinois Comptroller: The State Can No Longer Function

in #illinoisdebt7 years ago (edited)

On a more serious note than I'm used to posting about, we have the sad state of Illinois. The state I was born in and spent 24 years of my life now has $251 billion just in pension liabilities and is going on three years without a budget! WHAT???

I was lucky to have moved out of the state over two years ago. (probably one of the best decisions I've ever made.) However, I'm not in the clear. I have a rental property in Northern Illinois, and I admittedly have great renters, but this news is worrisome to say the least.

A Proposal of What Could be Done With the State of Illinois (Chicago Tribune)

3690581440001_5478211323001_image-1498004506960.jpg

Could this be what the Midwest looks like in the future? I doubt it, but Illinois needs to get their finances in order, and fast. One has to chuckle over Rahmonia, named after terrible Chicago mayor Rahm Emanuel, and Taxwinkletopia, different sectors of Chicago.

How did the state's finances get to be so reckless? One word: overspending.

Illinois's state debt is $127 billion with 100% of the state's income going out to pay Medicaid! Some people, such as Greg Hunter from USA Watchdog urge Illinoisans to watch out for huge tax increases for everything in the state.

Even lottery business Powerball has left the state of Illinois because the state told winners they would have to wait for their winnings!

Is the entire state of Illinois the next Detroit? Well, entire U.S. states cannot declare bankruptcy (yet).

This will be interesting folks. We shall have to wait and see what happens in Chiraq and the rest of Illinois. If you live in the state, I would sincerely think of leaving before things get much worse, or hold onto your hat!.

4ba3c822cb66fcc39e71d99653918153.jpg

Citation: http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2017-06-20/illinois-comptroller-state-can-no-longer-function-we-have-reached-new-phase-crisis

Thanks for stopping by,

Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 5.58.23 PM.png

@vegansilverstack

NEWLOGO REALLLLL.jpg

Sort:  

I hear about this on the radio a couple days ago. Crazy how bad it is. It does seem like Detroit but on the whole state level. Chicago is the driver I'm sure and it's been under Democrat rule for ages. Overspending is the problem...overspending and over promising. Great post my friend.

Thanks Sal, yeah it's a shame. Lucky to have left when I did... but I have family there still. :-/

I live just off I-70, barely in Indiana.
The folks in that crescent of eastern Illinois are WELCOME in Indiana,
as far as I am concerned! Kind of good to see Ch-Iraq going to WIS, imo
LOL

The downstate Illinois folks I know and love say that all the idiocy comes from Ch-Iraq... :rolleyes:

Well I would have to tend to agree that most of the problems come from Chicago and Springfield.

These initial dominoes are the start of a decaying system......it can't be fixed.......prepare for the old paradigm to crumble for it is toxic. Embrace new paradigm (crypto, collaboration etc).

Agreed! Thanks for your comment!

I was born and raised in the farming area of Illinois just outside the quad cities, but moved away in 1988. I haven't been back since but other family have and they say it is unrecognizable. It's a pity , really, what 'civilization' does to a place.

I guess that should read 'civilization and greedy politicians'