My First Ever Illustration

in #illustration6 years ago (edited)

So I've been seeing illustrations all over the internet and always wondered when I would make one of mine, I procrastinated severally after all I'm only used to making pencil sketches. I finally got myself to make one. Yes, I did it!!!

Original Image
[Original Image]

IMG-20180213-WA0004.jpg
[Illustrated Image]

It's not near perfect, I know, it's only my first trial and this is the turnout.
I started out two nights ago, was inspired by this beautiful portrait I came across on Pinterest and thought to myself "why not give it a try, you can never learn if you never try". So I searched for some beginner mobile drawing apps on the store and came up with "PicsArt". It was a bit tiring trying to figure out how to use the tools for painting( I only use it to grid my pictures), colour combinations as I really didn't want to produce the exact photograph, was using it as a guide bearing in mind I am an amateur at this, so I had to go for a basic design.
I ran into some major problems after I started out, her hair just wouldn't let me draw it properly. I dedicated almost a full night to it, this was how it turned out afterwards. Then the lipstick also, I must confess, I didn't know what to do with it 😂😂 so I made it into a "candy-inspired" kind. Then the lashes too were a bit hard to attain.
I'm actually surprised it turned out good atleast for a first attempt.
I think I heard something whisper in my ears too that females were difficult to draw so I'm going to try a male next time.

Please, if you have tips on how to make a better illustration, kindly drop it in the comments below... I'll be very grateful 😉
PS: no tutoial was seen before making it