Study 7 to 9 - woman's poses

in #illustration3 years ago (edited)

Etude 7.jpg

The only way to learn to draw and get better : training, training, and training ! So you will see here, time to time, some serie of studies of the same subject under different angles and poses, from photo references (like stock from Faestock or Rachel Bradley ). It's a very useful way to practice.

I try to make these drawings as fast as I can, since the goal is to catch quick shapes and light, and not to draw every details - however, since I like to be in control, I spend surely too much time on each of them !

Etude 8.jpg

Etude 9.jpg

Here are some steps of the first study here, to show the process : first the lines to build the shapes/

Etude 7 trait.jpg

Then I put quickly the main colors :

Etude 7 color.jpg

And I end with shadows and lights to add depth and contrast :

Etude 7 shadow.jpg

Just a quick background to make it prettier and that's it !