Full story: Streetos Character Design & Package

in #illustration4 years ago

collage.jpg

Had a lucky chance to work with some cool Vietnamese guys on character and package designs for the Streetos brand in the end of 2019. Hope this is satisfying your visual taste buds.

Sketches

Even if the task is highly detailed, explained and supported with lots of visual samples, it's pretty unusual to match the clients needs from the start so there are few iterations or stages where we are searching for the so called proper variant.

sketch01.jpg

First variants was too close to other brand character which I've done in past. In fact that character attracted my new clients and they wanted something as cool as it is but a bit different and distinctive.

sketch_02.jpg

I've offered another one fat which I am still in love with. They were afraid this is not good looking for their product as if their consumers are going to be fat eating their chips. Agreed.

sketch03.jpg

Made some more variants. Haha, number 11 looks like some Russian cartoon guy.

viet_rice_color_fat_dribbble.jpg

I've started to color this cute fat man in Leonardo application just for fun while waited for the client to choose the right sketch.

old_coloring.jpg

But they've chosen number 9 which is a bit less fat and probably much younger. Here is the process of coloring this sketch. I wanted to experiment and keep those sketchy lines in final to make illustration look as if it was drawn using real pencils but client asked to make the final smooth and asked to make his clothes look more modern and stylish.

bbq01.jpg

This one looks like Neo from Matrix, right? :)

bbq02.jpg

There was another variant as well. I've kept trying on my own till they finally told me they want him to wear a hoodie.

viet_rice_color_modern_hoodie.jpg

So here few tries with different colors. I am still loving that marine green background version!

viet_rice_color_modern_hoodie02.jpg

Then skin smoothing comes. Adding details. Composing everything together. Correcting few things again and the final approves!

Final version with eggs

Two different tastes as you can see. One with eggs and another with BBQ.

Final version with BBQ

eSteem Banner

Visit my illustrators portfolio at dunsky.ru

Sort:  

Thanks for using Esteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of Esteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.esteem.app, iOS: https://ios.esteem.app mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.esteem.app
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Thanks a lot for your support!

Maybe I'll see one of those next time in Vietnam, like I saw your illustrations for coffee packages several years ago (:

Who knows :)

Hello @dunsky

I've missed your posts. I'm glad I get to see them again.

Your posts are inspiring and educative, like today, I've learned something new.

I wanted to ask for the link to that Leonardo app you said you used in painting. Thanks

You can get it here but it's for Windows only https://www.getleonardo.com/

Thanks so much, I will check it up.