My Cover for Kids Coloring Book

in #illustration6 years ago (edited)

u6rlzqnrfm.png

Finally I can show this project in my portfolio! I was drawing this illustration one month ago. This is done for one very patient guy. He waited for me to deliver it for 3 months! He payed 100% in advance but I had no chance to start it for a long time. I was asking if he wants a refund but he was patiently waiting and waiting. And I really respect that. Glad he had time to wait and he gifted me this illustration. I would never draw this if nodoby would order it. He allowed it to appear.

Weak sketch

Then I was sketching some variants which I was not actually satisfied with. He approved them anyway. I started to color it thinking maybe I will correct all the stuff I don't like in the sketch during the coloring. But you know, when you start from the mood that you don't like the sketch it's better to change it because drawing with the feeling you don't really want to draw this may lead to unexpected results. I mean it may spoil all the inspiration and final outcome will be not good.

t6fqxhywgh.pngwh4la7wozv.png

Inspiration

Looking for inspiration I was browsing my old sketches and other works folders. I had this unfinished sketch for State of @sndbox monthly competition and I was really expected to finish it one day. Finally I've got an idea how this sketch could be useful for my commercial illustration here.

ahz0gpkz0c.png

This sketch itself was done in few minutes but waited for almost half of a year to become useful. After I started to add more silouettes I've got satisfaction and felt this is right way wanted to finish this in colors as soon as possible.

b5fzythrrm.png

Coloring

I guess after one more month I showed new sketch to my client and he said he like it a lot and after one more month finally I found time to finish it. So I started to color it saving some steps as a backups and to share them as a story here in my blog.

8z45ta94kx.png

It's always interesting to see my work in progress stages even for myself and I believe it may be useful for others. I was dreaming to show such a things for ages but had no time and motivation. Great to have such a platform like Steem to share and get additional rewards for it.

4rbal9v3l0.png

I thought this book cover lack of some rich background color but could not found any good variant during the process that's why I decided to wait till I'll finish all the characters. Once all of them was done there was a place to play with different colors for the back.

k8tts9ytiv.png

Final version

Was glad to find this color for background. I feel the whole composition was united this way. Even adding those small details and pieces of paper notes haven't spoiled it. Not sure if white background would work same way. This version was approved by my client immideately and he allowed me to show this work in my portfolio after 2 weeks from approval.

c8j6sufc1w.png

Original book in Amazon Store

eSteem Line

Posted via eSteem Surfer
eSteem product lead & illustrator Fil Dunsky
portfolio at dunsky.ru
Sort:  

Beautiful artwork. All the characters are really cute and funny! Well done! 😃

Thank you so much! P.S. I saw some strange unfair flag for this comment so giving an upvote to raise your reputation little bit.

Thanks, sir! :-D

I love seeing your process and the final result is of course wonderful. I love the round happy feel to your illustration. It's like a visual giggle or smile :)

Hmm... Interesting thoughts. Thanks a lot for your comment!

Very nice.
I liked the character with the glasses,
who looks out he is so good-natured and cute.
I wish you success and new achievements!
Excellent work,
Creative and modern.
Children will be very interesting
consider such illustrations, @dunsky !
My best wishes to you!

omg this is too cute to handle! A great cover, the client must've been so happy.
Did you find it difficult if you don't finish the project in a relatively short time, or are you okay with it being made slower, more organically?

Thank you! Yes, it's a bit stressful to think you have some credit. My client payed me 100% in advance and I could not deliver it during 3 months. This illustration took me for about 3-4 days to finish but had lots of different things/orders to do instead of this. But I really wanted to draw this cover actually and appreciate my client waited for me. Luckily he told me it's okay and no rush.

But yeah, usually I prefer to work fast and do everything before it will loose actuality :)

Yeah, I know how projects without deadline works, they seem ti be forgotten at times. Anyways, you did great on this one <3

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :)

This came out really nice. Always nice to see the process as well :)

Thank you very much!

Such a really great work keep it up your son So lucky he have such Super father and i love your this project its amazing design :) well done

What are you talking about? What son? What father? Lol 😂

Father hahah :p but son lucky :P

Why? Who is that father and son?

wtf 0.O

Haha :) I don't know if it's a bot or just a human with random thoughts or the one who really don't read/understand the topic trying to mine with such comments...

Amazing work. It really captures the feeling and came together nicely. Will resteem.

Congratulations @dunsky! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

aww, what a lovely illustration <3
very well done, i like the color pallete and the invitation it gives to open and color it
so minimalist but with an original and cute feeling ^^

Thank you! <3

OMG i'm in love with your works, it's so adorable! This is really worth the wait ❤️

Haha :) Nice to hear you like my works, thanks!

Excellent article. I really liked it. Thank you for doing STEEM - better. Good luck to you and Love.

Отличная статья. Мне очень понравилось. Спасибо, что делаете STEEM – лучше. Удачи Вам и Любви

Спасибо вам :)

Очень здорово! Про эскиз правда, бывает, что заказчик одобрил, а у тебя не лежит к нему душа и в итоге получается не очень...

Спасибо, Настя! Да, в данном случае просто было тотальное доверие со стороны клиента, чему я с одной стороны очень рад, но в тоже время лично меня это иногда сбивает с толку. Хотя именно здесь это было на руку...

Might pick up the book for my little one! It'll be a legendary item with a story of @dunsky attached to it years later :D

Haha :) Yeah, I also would like to buy myself one authours variant. But will hope my client will gift it to me one day.

Great post. Thank you for supporting my blog. Have a great day friend.