Nice image that looks like it was painted, made with Showfoto (free software)

in #imagelast year (edited)

Both images I present here can be used by you on Hive. You can use them for your projects, collages, or as an illustration of your posts. The first one is the result of my edition, and the second one is the original one I made during this summer.

I like to play with various #photo #editors, and recently, I use #Showfoto which is a free (like in freedom) photo editor that belongs to the #Digikam suite. #Linux repositories are full of great graphic apps.

Sometimes I need images which look like they were painted with #watercolors. I used them for my projects in social media, or for book covers etc. As I take many pictures of #flowers during the warm part of the year, I always have many of them, so I took one of them and I edited it in Showfoto.

The result is similar to using filters or AI apps that style pictures when you provide another input image, but none of such tools were used by me when I created this image.

The only thing I did during edition was change in tonal contrast. That's all! What is more, Showfoto/Digikam allows you to export operations or settings to the simple text file, so now I can just open some pictures and choose the text file with these settings to apply the same effect. I don't even need to remember which setting I used.

Showfoto is also available for Windows and MacOS, and it is a completely free, Open-Source program which gives you giant possibilities. On the other hand, it's pretty intuitive, and you don't need to possess any great knowledge on photo editing to make great editions. Just play with it and experiment. With the pass of time, you'll understand various settings and tools more. You can also refer to various tutorials and to the extensive documentation of this software.