So far away and yet so close...

in #immigration7 years ago (edited)

My mum immigrated to Indonesia 60 years ago. It took over a month on a boat and she knew she wouldn't see or hear her sisters who stayed behind for their education for years.
Phone calls were way too expensive and letters took over 6 weeks to reach the recipient. The news was never new. Immigration was forever and life changing.

In the eighties, my parents in law immigrated to New Zealand. They took a plane. It took two days. Phone calls were expensive so only short calls were affordable. Sending letters took two weeks!

Almost 9 years ago I immigrated to New Zealand. It took a day on an airplane. And although still life changing I think we can adapt so much easier and make the transition so much quicker because of Social Media and all the technology that is available to us.

I talk to my family for free over the internet. I make sure they don't miss a single thing from my kid's lives. I send photos/ videos and a short message the moment something fun happens (or something sad).

I talk to my mum more often now then I did when I still lived in Holland.

Because of the time difference friends that are going through a hard time have no problem apping me in the middle of the night. I can respond within a second.

If I want to send a postcard I log on to a Dutch website and send a real life card which arrives within 12 hours (because of the time difference). My friends are often stunned about that. In the same way, I arrange presents to be delivered to their door.

Source of images:
http://www.seadogs-reunited.com/Himalaya.htm
http://tonymadgehjg.proboards.com/thread/7426/air-new-zealand-dc10-digest
https://techcrunch.com/2016/02/23/whatsapp-debuts-an-official-android-beta-testing-program/

Sort:  

Congratulations @fleurnz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!