Youtube and Facebook are wiping out the indie media. We're going to Dtube/Steemit

in #independent6 years ago

In 2014, I co-founded a company called News2Share with a fellow then-student at American University. Since then, dozens of contributors have come and gone, and News2Share has built a bit of a following within the indie media movement.

The premise was simple: The mainstream media sells you opinion. A two hour activist event could be boiled down into 15 seconds of b-roll followed by a couple talking heads telling you what to think about the situation. We wanted to offer something different, yet simple.

At News2Share, we began covering stories in a raw footage format. No commentary. No spin. Very limited use of our own reporters on the camera. You could watch our content on Facebook or Youtube.

With the advent of livestream, this moved to a new level, where our audience could watch an entire event in real time. Think we deceptively edited the piece? Check out the livestream. Watch everything we filmed, then tell us if you feel the same.

For example, when we filmed the fighting in Charlottesville, my audience saw the entire 10 or so hours I streamed, in addition to raw footage compilations after the fact. When I watched CNN the night three people died in the violence, I felt like I was seeing a completely different city. Two talking heads and about two minutes of fighting footage on repeat. That isn't journalism.

It was the streamers, photographers, and independent voices that really told the world what happened from the ground.

I can't say this was ever going to make us rich, but Facebook's live ad program and Youtube monetization (as well as some modest licensing fees) kept the business running. Personally, I continue to do freelance video projects to support myself while running News2Share.

Toward the end of 2017, that all changed. Youtube began demonetizing our work, even things not remotely related to violence. Facebook cancelled our inclusion in the livestream ad program. 

Undeterred, we began pushing a Patreon, which we still love and use to this day. Our audience could fund us directly, while we continue to provide the content they know and love.

Nonetheless, mainstream outlets like Facebook and Youtube persisted. Facebook's recent newsfeed algorithm change has left our recent work with far fewer viewers than before. Youtube has been knocking our down bit by bit. While we will continue to share our work with our more than 30,000 Facebook followers and 10,000 Youtube subscribers, it's time for something new.

Enter Dtube. Censorship free. Decentralized. Independent. 

I think this is exactly what we need. Starting now, we'll be posting our new, raw content onto Dtube. We hope that Dtube's audiences feel refreshed by raw, HD content the mainstream media won't show them. We also hope to bring new audiences to the platform. 

We'll also be archiving our old content here. With over 700 stories on Youtube, many remain relevant today, and honestly, I am not convinced Youtube won't kill the channel altogether.

Not only do I trust Steemit not to censor, but also I can see the blockchain design makes it impossible. 

Thank You,

Ford Fischer

Sort:  

There is a growing exodus of alternative media fleeing Facebook and Youtube for sites like Steemit and Dtube. Welcome @news2share. Steemit is just beginning to take off now so I believe you have joined at the right time. It may take some time to build an audience but it will defintely be worth it in the long run.

@caitlinjohnstone has just announced that she will be writing primarily on Steemit because of Facebook censorship drastically reducing her audience on Medium. Caitlin joins other awesome alternative voices such as @lukewearechange, @pressfortruth and @sarahabed just to name a few.

Greg Carlwood of The Higherside Chats has been discussing joining Steemit and Dtube, so I will be doing my best to encourage him to join the platform as soon as possible.

Steemit and Dtube is a refuge for alternative media and their audiences. It's going to be an exciting year for Steemit.

Welcome!

I have been collecting these indie journalists on a list to share with others. I will add these. Steem and Dtube are very promising for journalists, but we also have LBRY which I believe is another very promising way to out compete the mainstream.

Thanks, would love to be on the list! won't let you down!

Great list @diggndeeper.com. How did I forget to mention @corbettreport in my previous comment?

I'm going to start working on Patrick Henningsen of 21st Century Wire (& Alternate Current Radio Network) too. They have been getting hammered by the Facebook, Google censorship.

Thank you! And yes, I've worked before with Luke before. This is his interview with me after Charlottesville:

Just posted this comment on Alternate Current Radio Network's Facebook page. I will keep badgering!

Hey guys,
Just wanted to let you know that more and more alternative media types are tuning out of Facebook and Youtube and heading over to decentralised platforms (censorship-resistant platforms) like Steemit and Dtube. (Like you didn't know that already).

Is ACR looking to establish a presence on Steemit any time soon?

If you do, you'll be in great company with the likes of the Corbettreport, Press for Truth, We Are Change, Adam Kokesh, World Alternative Media, Sarah Abed and many others.

Caitlin Johnstone has just announced that due to FB censorship, Steemit will now be her primary channel for posting her writings https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@caitlinjohnstone/facebook-is-throttling-my-articles-so-it-s-time-to-diversify-platforms-hi-steemit

And news2share has just done the same https://steemit.com/independent/@news2share/youtube-and-facebook-are-wiping-out-the-indie-media-we-re-going-to-dtube-steemit#@atnicholson/re-news2share-youtube-and-facebook-are-wiping-out-the-indie-media-we-re-going-to-dtube-steemit-20180127t220126466z

The audience on Steemit and Dtube is growing by the day and with big names in alternative media making the move, they will be bringing their audiences with them.

I believe if the ACR gang make the move now, you will all reap the rewards before long. Spore McHeshington Patrick Henningsen Hesher McHeshington Jay Dyer Jay Scott

OK, time to log out of Facebook now ... I feel so dirty.

Wellcome bro !

Thanks!
-FF

Obviously I am just a tiny fish compared to your channel on Youtube but when they sent the last letter out I packed up my stuff left one video saying good bye , and another where to find me , and left. I agree dtube has the potential to become the next new thing and more importantly a refuge for those who want a free internet.

We started our channel with nothing, and got about 10K followers in a few years.
I have no doubt that'd be virtually impossible if we started today.

Way to go, @news2share! Resteeming your post :)). ScrewTube and the horrible monster called Facebook (I didn’t come up with the new name for this one, but I will soon) are dying dinosaurs, MySpaces of tomorrow. Decentralized platforms are the future :). I’ll be sure to follow your posts!

Exactly! This is the future. I only regret waiting so long.
-Ford

FINALLY! lol

Bro I feel liberated.
-FF

It's only the beginning! :P

This is wonderful, I love what steemit and dtube are doing for the masses. Keep sharing your stories, your perspectives. Because the people of Earth really need you!! <3

Hell yeah! So happy to see you here and looking forward both to working with you in our G3 crew and also to seeing you continue your own independent work. xoxo

Looking forward to working with you, and this new community gives me so much hope for a free and decentralized future. I used to think liberty in media was just about keeping the government away from it. I've realized now it's also about escaping the systems the big corporate media put together and expect us to work off of.
-FF

Also, resteemed!

How do I resteem stuff? Still figuring all this out!

Great to see this exodus continuing. Welcome onboard. I'm sure you'll love it here. :)

Glad to see you here on the Steemit platform. I too had to bail from FB, it lost all value for me except for I repost many Steemian posts over there hoping the audience realizes what a waste of time FB is now with all the censoring. My last Steemit post was marked as "spam" and it is just taking too long to waste time in working around it. I looked for posts I had made there from months ago, they are gone....where? why? A lot of lost work and wasted time. All my real and reliable sources for news have dwindled to "zip" there now. So good to see you here on this platform. You will bring great value to this community! Steem On . . .

Welcome to the platform! We need more outlets like you to move to Steemit so that we can grow it faster.

Facebook and Google have no idea how the paradgm is changing from a model where you give your data for a free service to one where your data gains worth by its command of attention and is then paid for in cryptocurrencies

Woohoo! Welcome to steemit. I am following. I upvoted and resteemed this.
Steemit and dtube are here to replace facehbook and youtube. Looking forward to seeing some of you content. I have never been on a social media site and I love it here precisely because we all own our content and not this corporate giant that is going to change the rules down the road. This site will be huge.

welcome aboard brother!

Thanks man! Excited to join the family!

Glad to see more and more new journalists out on the field as the typical news coverage now is filthy for how it acts having to spin it all for either coverage or money. Take for example Luke from WeAreChange has had many times were CNN wont give him coverage then use his footage and spin it so to say hes the aggressor vs the side lines guy stepping in. After the 2016 election its become real quick with Veritas etc how corrupt these companies are. I hope you the best as platforms like this is fair and convenient. Have you tried YouTube and being verified with BAT payment too?

Welcome news2share. I wish you all the success of freely sharing your content with the growing steemit audience and hope you carve out your revenue stream to support your work!

resteemed.