Travel Asia Part 3: Indonesia

in #indonesia6 years ago

Culinary excellence, and I’m not even being biased.

It’s good to be back home, and dang will I gain so much weight this holiday season. Any kind of food, you name it. Authentic or upgraded, they have it. It seems like there are even more competition in the food industry now more than ever. It’s so easy to get in on the food industry, because the cost is so cheap. You don’t even have to rent a space because there’s a cheap delivery method similar to uber/postmaid, except it’s less than ONE dollar! You don’t need to create a company. No tax auditor will be knocking on your door because you have no company. They’re too lazy to come and look out for this kind of business. So if you think you’re a good cook, why not let it fly.

So far my friends have been feeding me the new and trendiest foods that were not around last time I was home. Here are my top three picks for my first week:

D49BD170-030E-441A-9761-49BC8ADE70BD.jpeg

#1 Pok! (Instagram: eatpok)
Roasted and slowcooked pork belly thrown on top of steamed white rice, topped with green chili. Indonesians love their chili, and at pok!, the chili is soooo good. The roasted pork is perfectly crisped, combined with the sweet taste of the pork belly... Wait now I’ve got to go order another bowl.

B3A98DB1-01FA-4DE5-BD6B-8CBF31EB5997.jpeg

#2 Ayam Geprek Aaah Judes (Instagram: ayamgeprek.ahhudes)
Have you ever get your ass beaten by your parents so hard, your ass got soft and puffy? Just me? Okay.. That’s how this grilled chicken’s texture is like. Topped with red chili with spice level options and an option of adding melted cheese. Some people think cheeseburger is weird, well think again. Apparently this is the most happening place as of now, so that tells a lot.

0F3A1960-4F65-442D-B63C-F48BC566D67A.jpeg

#3 Eatlah (instagram: eatlahjkt)
The oldest out of the three. Within two years have expanded to ten stores city wide. The food is simple. Fried chicken covered in salted egg. Apparently simplicity is the new deep. But hotdamn, it tastes goooood. I wonder, maybe I can even make it myself cos it’s so damn simple. But wait, I’m too lazy to get my butt off my couch. $1 delivery incoming.