You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inflation

in #inflation3 years ago

I've had a couple of doozies before. Once was the family of mechanics....it took a lot of pre cleaning the carpets with a shampooer and then a professional to get the grease footprints of the carpets. I didn't want to toss them because they were relatively new, actually brand new when they moved in. Then there was the old lady, her daughter and her two daughters....that ended up then the daughters son, they a nephew sex offender, then the daughters illegal immigrant boyfriend finally I said that's it you can all go after they got their gas turned off and the city said I had to get it turned back on for them. (It happened during my four year inspection requirement and he found they had the gas off). He said turn it back on or I'll condemn the place, I told him if he could get them out faster than me go for it. I wasn't about to turn on and pay the gas bill for three adult men. The daughter though was a hoarder, she was a neat hoarder but when the city condemned the place the old lady's relatives just came in and threw the stuff on the floor and took out the furniture. I showed up to see if they were out and here was this seventy some year old lady sitting there with a broom looking at me telling me she'd get it cleaned up. I felt so bad for her, I told her I'd go get my kids and we'd help her. It took my kids and their friends, six of us all together, nearly five hours to take all that stuff outside. There was so much stuff in there you couldn't see one speck of floor from top to bottom of that place. She sat there and told us what could go on the porch and what to throw out, it all had to be out before the inspector came back otherwise he was going to paddle lock the doors and hang a condemned sign on it. The daughter, this is so funny, because like I said she was a hoarder and hoarders just can't let go, anyway the next morning I see her going across the park to the duplex, I go up there and she's having a severe asthma attack, can barely breathe after seeing the pile her mom told us to toss. That's what she gets for not taking care of it in the first place. So yeah I've had a couple of interesting things transpire being a landlord but nothing even comparably as dirty as this.