Sort:  

Thanks.
I prefer to make films but I can't do that right now.
So if I'm going to write, I may as well put my heart into it.
I like writing too, it's just so much fun playing with all the photographic toys.
I'm finding that the more I get my head into writing again, the more I'm finding about Steemit that I really like.

You're in a good place ATM, with the support of information war. You are doing better than most. A good solid 3 paragraphs++ with links and verifiable sources is about right. Steemit is OK for video too, especially short film. There is dtube and dlive, that is part of the steemit echo-system for video. The other good news is I may not have to fund your dustsweeper account after all:) Also go find some articles on how the echo-system actually works/especially on voting and steem power. You should be building up you voting power as much as possible by powering up, to increase your own voting power and get higher payouts on posts and influence on the platform.

Thanks, I appreciate the advice.
The biggest problem is me. I still haven't sorted out why dtube won't let me sign in, or even some of the rudimentary basics.
Life is a bit of a load right now, and when I get to Steemit I usually have several issues on my mind. Writing about them is a lot funner than fighting the learning curve on dry tech stuff.
But it's coming, slowly. I'm getting help from some people, you included, and that helps a lot.
I'm getting motivated; I've been here just coming up to 2 months and I've got over 200 followers. I don't know if that's good, but it seems so to me. And only a couple of encounters with extreme opinions, but I appreciate that too. I even upvote most of the snarky ones :)