inji

in #injilast year (edited)

image.png


After 3 years and lot of time, energy & money spent, I've had to make the difficult decision to end inji.com as a social media project.

With the account creation service being one of the most used features on the website though, I've decided to keep and maintain it.

I want to thank each and every user who've been using the website.

Rest assured, I'm still on Hive and will continue to build, it was just time to cut the losses and move on.

Much gratitude

Wolf

Sort:  

That’s a shame but totally appreciate your position

Thank you!

Sometimes the right thing to do still feels like a kick in the nuts :(

Thanks for the update, tried to log in today and noticed. Maybe add a notification on Twitter as well.

What was the deciding factor for that decision? Too hard to get people on?

First off, thank you so much for using inji. You were actually the last person with @forkyishere to publish on inji on the 31th of December. 🙏

The reason I pulled the plug now was mainly that I don't have enough time & energy to keep maintaining the social media part and that the AWS credits ran out.

I put a lot of money and time into inji, and while it is indeed very sad for me to make that decision, I can honestly say that I gave it my everything. The whole thing started because I wanted to build a small thing at the start of 2020 based on an idea Gary Vaynerchuck shared on social media. The small thing turned in a giant thing and while I ultimately pitched the idea to Gary Vaynerchuck at the end of 2021 and he seemed interested in the pitch, he never answered the mails, which quite honestly was something that took me many months to get over.

So from then on, it was more of an "when" not an "if".

With this said, I think my energy at this point is better spent elsewhere, at least that's where I believe I can provide the most value for Hive, Splinterlands and myself.

Was a really great experiment and I really enjoyed the peaceful mindset of multi networks posting.

@dbuzz is my fallback app now that things are over. 😍

The environment around Blockchain Technology has changed a lot lately. I don't think anyone will hold your decisions against you. Sometimes life is just what it is.

Long time no see... Nice that you're still active. Or at least "popping on Hive" once in a while.

Always been here. Mostly lurking, coding, making sure the servers are running ... :D

Ouch! I liked the idea of the project and frequently visited the NFT tab to check what's popping. But I guess it didn't catch on and users weren't ready for it yet. Thanks for the update. Best of luck on your future ventures ;)

it's really been 3 years?! feels like yesterday that I first used your site. While I really appreciate your work and dedication, I have to say that I am not surprised by this development. Your premise of less posts = more value was clearly not accurate or at least not something that people wanted. Did you change the parameters at the end to allow for more posts? I feel your skills as a web/dapp developer could have been so well used for "project blank" from the leo finance team.

What's your stance towards Hive now; are you still building something? There is so much there is still to do...

it's really been 3 years?! feels like yesterday that I first used your site. While I really appreciate your work and dedication, I have to say that I am not surprised by this development. Your premise of less posts = more value was clearly not accurate or at least not something that people wanted. Did you change the parameters at the end to allow for more posts? I feel your skills as a web/dapp developer could have been so well used for "project blank" from the leo finance team.

Yeah, time flies! I think the idea is still good, but it's likely that it wasn't what people wanted, more what I think would be beneficial for social media users. Def. lessons learned there.

What's your stance towards Hive now; are you still building something? There is so much there is still to do...

I'm working at Splinterlands, so I'm def. still building (for Hive). But at this point at least, I'm not really interested in building something on my own and doing everything myself. I still like to code on small side-projects (i.e. for my witness), but there's actually something beautiful in working with a team of talented individuals.

And as Matt, I think in some townhall, said (rough quote): "I noticed that I don't really like to build a business, I just want to build a fun & great game" And that's how I've been feeling as well. It's fucking brutal to build a business. I just want to build cool & fun stuff.

cool to see over at SPL. I think we should slowly see a turn around there with the new ideas/roadmap coming to life

Why, why this decision though?

Please see my comment re: @manniman

🤔😊🤙 oh, well thank you for making that.. i did use that service once..

Fokus. Sehr gute Entscheidung.

Thanks for the service! Definitely keep that domain in use.

Hmm being more than 5 years with this blockchain due my fault I missed this site or let's say maybe better service. Anyway I think that any man has it's right to make decision for his child. And anyway I think you can always return it to life in right time and at the right moment! Keep it up!

I'm sorry I didn't use Inji as much as I would have liked, and I used Hive.io even less.

As your account is my account's creator, I feel especially indebted, and wanted to reach out and say thank you. Inji was better than the fate it deserved, but I know how much work it is to maintain a project of that scale.

It's really wonderful to see that you kept the account creator online.