Time to sleep

in #insects5 years ago

Worm.jpg

I was outside the gate this morning and noticed this funky specimen on the tarmac, trying desperately to get somewhere and I wondered if it had fallen off a bush nearby. I picked it up to put it on a bush on the yard but after doing so, it promptly fell off again. I thought there must be something wrong with it and decided to take it inside to take some pictures instead. Got the camera and put it in a plant pot. The worm had other ideas and immediately headed underground

Worm2.jpg

Finally I figured out what the problem was: it's finshed growing and it was looking for a place to go and bury itself to pupate in peace. Judging by the size of it, it is probably a Hawk Moth caterpillar.

Worm1.jpg
Kiss my ass - I'm outta here!

I saw later that it had dug a deep hole, far from the ants. In a little while, I hope to see a big beautiful moth dig its way out of the ground.

Sort:  

What an interesting worm. As if he moved from one life to another.

That is exactly what he is doing

Very much catch of this big fat guy!
Goodnight!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you!

Interesting caterpillar!
You need to install the video camera :-)))

Yes, I want to see what happens next

Saludos amiga, muy interesante el caso de este gusanito. Muy buena su interpretación de los gustos de este ser. Si se encuentra con el gato otro cuento sería.

Very true about the cats!

Wow trippy colors on that one. I'm sure my pet vinegaroon would eat it.

Posted using Partiko Android

May be a bit big, that worm was the size of a pinky finger