Sometimes you just gotta lose your mind....

in #insecure6 years ago

So, dealing with an insecure teen is always a challenge... Sometimes a small challenge, other times it's great, big, huge challenges. Tonight was one that drove me absolutely crazy. My 17 year old daughters, girlfriend called to try to make valentine's plans to surprise my daughter. Cool... Except, my 17 year old daughter wouldn't leave it alone that her girlfriend called me. OMG. She nagged, and whined, and complained, and said she was "pissed" because I wouldn't tell her why for almost 15 minutes. What did I do? I lost my crap. Seriously. I realize that there are issues of insecurity, anxiety, trust issues, and more... but I told her that no, her girlfriend wasn't breaking up with her... No, it wasn't anything bad... No it wasn't anything she had to think negatively on... She proceeded to go on and on and on and on... So I did. I admit it... I lost my crap. I looked at her and said "It's F'n Valentine's Day on Wednesday... What else do you think your girlfriend would have been calling me about other than surprising you on this holiday to celebrate couples?" She kind of sat there and tried to say BUT... I said no. No buts. You are 17 years old and for the last 10+ minutes I have sat here and listened to you do nothing but complain that she called me and not you. It's supposed to be a F'n surprise! Do you want me to call her and tell her YOUR plans for her for Valentine's day? She said No... So I said there then. Stop complaining and know that she loves you enough to want to do something nice for you.

Good lord above, save my sanity from girls that think themselves mature.