CHARITY WRAPPED IN DIGNITY

in #integrity6 years ago

INTEGRITYad4d7a9ee2f2a082f8421fda0bacf7f2--words-quotes-wise-words.jpg

He asked her, "How much are you selling the eggs for?"

The old seller replied to him, "1 naira for an egg, sir."

He said to her, "I will take 6 eggs for 5 naira, or I will leave."

The old seller replied, "Come take them at the price you want...

May be this is a good beginning because I have not been able sell to anyone today."

The rich man took them and walked away with a feeling that he has won.

He got into his fancy car, went to pick his friend,and invited him to a posh restaurant.

Him and his friend sat down and ordered what they liked.

They ate a little and left a lot of what they ordered.

Then he went to pay the bill.

The bill was 140 naira he gave him 150 naira and said to the owner of the restaurant: "Keep the change."

This incident may seem quite normal to the owner of the restaurant.

But it is very painful for the poor egg seller.

The bottom line is:

Why do we always show that we have the power when we buy from the needy and the poor?

And why are we generous with those who do not need our generosity?

Every time a poor child comes to me to sell something simple, I remember a tweet from the son of a rich man who said,

"After every prayer my father used to buy simple goods from poor people at expensive prices, even though he did not need them.

Sometimes he used to pay more for them.

This act always gets me confused and I asked him about it.

Then my father told me:"

It is a charity wrapped with dignity, my son.

Help the poor and stop making them lose everything more .

Sort:  

Great story. Generocity is an important character trait that is not taught enough. He teach people to hold the door for other, help them in other ways, but we don’t teach people to give money to those in need. Some do, but in general we don’t. It is important to be generous. Thanks for your post.

Thanks @ cheerfulgiver,it is very important to be generouse to all

It looks like you were not the original author either. This story is all over the place. So much so that I am not sure who the original author is. Here is another place I found it: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/charity-wrapped-dignity-greta-dsouza

I see that you are new to Steemit. If you pull material that is not your own, the community expects you to cite your sources due to copyright laws. Something to consider in the future. Good luck with your blog.

Hi @jess2cute. I found a post from someone who copied your work and passed it off as their own. Here is a link.
https://steemit.com/life/@enlight100/charity-wrapped-in-dignity

I just wanted to give you a heads up.

Integrity is the person you are when nobody is looking hehe. Thanks for sharing hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.