The stupidity of the intelligentsia

The_Thinker_Auguste_Rodin.jpg

I am ashamed at what I think the intelligentsia thinks of me. Of course, the intelligentsia isn't thinking of me at all (save for the few rejected submissions I've made to The New Yorker), but I imagine if they were they'd call me an utter fool.

This is foolish thinking.

This black, this white. It leaves no room for the reality that all of our minds are limited in some way, even the most brilliant.

We all have blind spots.

I may not be as intelligent as most of the intelligentsia, but this makes me neither stupid nor a fool. And it's a person with a sharp intellect and keen perception that can appreciate the intelligence of someone who does not appear intelligent. It's a dull mind, a myopic mind, an insipid mind, a blinded and egoic mind that blows off any other mind as having nothing to offer them.

Every mind has a new kernel of truth to offer the world.

I've been alive for nearly 40 years, and my experience is that most people are, in their own way, highly intelligent.

So, screw the ivory tower and screw the Gatekeepers. Screw The New Yorker and Harper's. Screw the tempered and the measured, the banterers and their virtual cigars.

If you don't risk saying something stupid, you'll never say anything smart. You won't know which is which until you put all of your thoughts out there.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bitchbitchbitch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!