Interior photography contest winners

in #interiorphotography6 years ago (edited)

Well, a week ago I organized a contest with some guidance from the great photographer William Eggleston, with the theme being interior photography. You can find the original post here.

Unfortunately, the low reach of the contest translated into few entries. And even fewer in accord with the theme proposed given the context.

So my task was quite easy in picking the winners.


1st Place

I have 2 entries here, I like them both, in the same way, so I just cannot pick just one.
I am a sucker for earthy colors and for the seemingly chaotic composition taken under the shade of interiors.

The first image depicts a strange cozy atmosphere, augmented by the "ingenious Ikea lighting" :). It also emits a sentiment of intimacy and warmth. The second one is colder. I loved the steel bars unveiled by the shattered concrete and the mirrors with their beautiful frames. I also enjoyed the angle chosen, with the two table stands? forming an angle pointing to the hole in the wall.

So, anyway, as I don't have 5 SBD for each, I will supplement the prize pool with 2 SBD to give a 3,5 SBD to each 1st place photograph. Sorry. :(


AuthorImage
@agniese
@outrayjust

2nd Place

I loved the way light squeezed thru the side and bottom of the door, projecting like a tridimensional scale of things.


AuthorImage
@victorcovrig

3rd Place

The simple, creamy beauty of these flowers ( they seem plastic? ) entwined in that trail of smoke makes this photograph a perfect candidate for everyday beauty found in our hidden interior corners.


AuthorImage
@adriansky

Unfortunately, I would love to organize more of these contests, as I am a big fan of this "New Landscape" type of photography, but the truth is, in the current Steemit geometry, is it unappealing to most of the folks here. And, by all means, they find it...boring. Which, to some extent, it is. People are looking for fast, grandiose, universal beauty. They don't have time to go deeper. Time or...whatever. You get the point.

So, until I grow, or I amass a critical volume of people that dig this kind of photography, I will put this project on hold. :)

Thanks a lot to you guys who posted in this hashtag. Congrats to winners! Keep looking for strange beauty.

Catalin

Sort:  

Thank you, @catlincernat! @agniese, I was certain that your masterful use of light would win...and of course it did. 😊 I’m honored to share the spotlight with you. And gorgeous entries also from @victorcovrig and @adriansky...nice to meet you both.

It’s disappointing that this contest didn’t receive more entries and attention. I don’t see it as boring at all. It’s easy to create a stunning image of a sunset or a cat. But for a photographer, this challenge is far more complex and therefore rewarding.

I hope that you - or perhaps we as a collective - can continue to foster and encourage such challenges and growth.

The honor is on my side, Lisa!

Well, Lisa, now that you mentioned it, maybe we can think of something as a team. Let's see how this idea will unfold in the coming future. :)

Team! Team! Let’s be a team :P :D

@misfits :) Who gonna apply for it? :)

Oooooh...Good one!

w00t
It could be epically mundane. Or mundanely epic.

Totally agree! Where do I sign up? Should I provide my resume and certificate of non criminal record?

No criminal records whatsoever? I’m yawning already 😉

@outrayjust, you should already know that I'm a big fan of your works so I feel like standing on the podium with my master! And I'm so happy for all of you guys. I've already expressed my delight to your photograph, @victorcovrig and actually I owe you great THANK YOU since you motivated me to join the contest. @adriansky, your shot is very esoteric, I'm gonna follow you for further posts :)

@catlincernat, it is rather rare when join contents. It happens only when one is either super interesting or aberrant. You met both of those conditions. I still hope for a sequel. Thank you so much for picking my photo!

Well shucks...I’m all gooey now. Thank you❣️

I did not realize you had started this contest. Not sure I would have found any good photo to propose matching the theme in my stack, but I guess this shows how interesting stuff can quickly get burried under the mass of posts going through our feeds.

Anyway, congrats to the winners, great pictures. I really love @victorcovrig and @agniese submissions. This is inspiring.

I hope you can resume this contest in a near future.

I hope too, man. As I see it now, it seems that we have some grounds for making it work. We'll see. :)

Congrats to all the winners! Such a nice contest and such good photos.

PS. Special thanks to @irreverent-dan, who gladly informed me that I won the contest. Otherwise, I would realize after one week or so ;) Scatty me :P

haha Better think of trademarking that IKEA lamp drying of clothes.

Ahahahaha! Good advise always welcome, Catalin!

Congratulations to all of you, guys, the use of light is fantastic in all 4 images! Unfortunately, I couldn't keep my promise to participate 😶

Well, there's always the next time... :)

Bad Dan! No doughnut.

Huh, what about a cookie?

Oh honey...a cookie is soooo far above a doughnut on my food chain. You shouldn’t even be aspiring. 😄