Intermittent Fasting! A Help or Hindrance?

The health industry is a big one, and one of the most recent subjects to catch fire has been intermittent fasting (I.F.). Now, for those of you not familiar with the term, the concept involves limiting the hours per day in which you allow your body nutrients. Certain cultures and religions practice fasting as part of their beliefs, but everyone from dietitians to Dave the Lunk down at your local barbell watering hole have all sparked interest in the nutritional merits and deficits of intermittent fasting. Even the media is all over it! Chances are, if Dr. Oz is talking about it, there's a good chance the subject has been nearly beaten to death.

So then, why am I talking about it? Given the popularity, I feel there has been too much misappropriation of information being shared and that I.F. has received a bit of an incorrect label. Now, I do not claim to be a dietitian or an expert in the field of fitness! However, I do spend 2+ hours a day, 6 days a week in the gym, cultivating my body. I do know a great deal about macro-nutrients, nutrient timing, and using nutrients in a way that best suits my bodies needs. I've also experimented a lot with different 'dieting' approaches, so I'd like to think my perspective is more on the well-informed and educated side.

Alright alright..Enough self-boasting and lead up! What's the verdict!?

The answer is both!

Intermittent fasting is both all at the same time. It is simply a tool or technique and should be used as such in whatever dieting approach you bring to your body. So, in short...It depends!

Those that claim Intermittent Fasting is dangerous or obstructs ones goals for a healthier diet often either dilute the truth associated with the characteristics of the technique, or set themselves up for failure from the start. If you fast for 12 hours, but spend the next 12 hours eating the same terrible foods in massive quantities, then of course it won't work for you. Prolonged fasting can often induce binge eating in certain individuals, so if you just because you fasted doesn't mean you shouldn't still watch what you eat!

Those that claim Intermittent Fasting is the best thing since sliced sprouted bread often over under-correlate their results with other beneficial contributions also taking place. Sure, Intermittent Fasting could have helped you lose 10lbs last month, but that's because your calories in vs calories out were actually lower! Or it could be the extra 3 miles a day on the treadmill...

The truth is, Intermittent Fasting is simply a means to an end. Its a technique anyone can use to help them lose (or control) weight. You just have to use it with moderation, and within the guidelines that best fits your fitness goals

Personally, I love to Intermittent Fasting in the morning. From when I wake, up till about 12pm, I will only have water or coffee. Doing so helps me regulate the total daily calorie limit. If I fast for 4 hours, that's more calories I can save for meals later in the day, reducing my chances to over indulge.

The key here though is moderation. If I fasted from 8am to 4pm, by the time my first meal came around, I'd likely over eat as aggressive hunger pangs have clouted my better judgement. Yet if I use Intermittent Fasting in moderation, and choose a more reasonable window, I can easily reduce the waking hours available for food consumption and still stay within my sanity limits.

The most important aspect of any diet will always be calories in vs. calories out. If you eat less than what you burn, you will lose weight.

Sort:  

I give intermittent fasting 2 thumbs up.