The Black Mirror episode that really impacted me

in #internet6 years ago

Black Mirror is great, I mean it. I started watching it last year and since then it has become one of my favorite series of all time. It is amazing to see how it exposes in many ways the recurring fears of society with regard to technology. In fact, one of the best comparisons I've heard, is that The Twilight Zone reflects the fears that people had a long time ago (a nuclear war, the end of the world, being the only survivor of humanity) and Black Mirror does the same thing but today (losing our autonomy in front of technology, feeling that technology is God)

There is not a single episode that I did not like, obviously some are better than others - and also everybody can have their favorite - but today I want to write about one in particular.

bm.jpg

Hang the dj is the fourth episode of the fourth season of this series, it is basically about a Dating App in which you must have a relationship with someone for a limited time, in that way, yo will have a relationship after a relationship until you meet the love of your life . That's when my conflict begins.

Let's start there, the concept of "Love of life" seems abstract to me. Yes, I think that in part we all seek to be with someone whom we can love until the end of our days, but I do not think there is only one person for each one. And precisely this same premise is what is developed in Hang the Dj but in a completely different way from my point of view. It is assumed that the application leads you to be with several relationships to understand your tastes, your preferences and especially how you live side by side with another person, which makes sense if, like me, you think that a relationship does not start magically but is built with effort.

bm1.jpg

The chapter begins with a couple in which both make their first match, they know each other and they meet each other but the time of the relationship does not go beyond one night, they say goodbye and they continue with other relationships. Then, both protagonists go through endless relationships; the girl will be with several men (and a women hehe) for a short time, and the guy will be in longer relationships but they are still catastrophic. Seeing these relationships is devastating, but it is real. They show you easily that a lot of people could spend years with someone they really hate, do not like them or just they will be with someone with whom you do not have even a hint of affection, that's fine and realistic.

However, what bothers me is its counterpart, and it is the act of dismissing as useless or bad the relationships that do not last until death. Black Mirror played with my feelings, it is clear that the protagonists were somehow destined to be together but that did not stop me from wanting them to enjoy being with other people, to know something new, to be left with nice things despite that it was not going to be forever, and every time that it did not happen, my heart broke a little.

I fought for my idea until the last moment. And by the end of the episode girl and boy had a match with the love of their life, Black Mirror did it again-I thought-, this only tells us that a person can remain a short time in our lives and despite that leave us a beautiful story, beautiful memories. God, it was an excellent twist ... but no, it was not like that at all. The episode ends with a leak between them, revealing themselves to the system or whatever, making it appear that their love was real but at what cost? Do not get me wrong, I'm not saying it was a terrible ending but it was what everyone was expected and sincerely it left me no answer, in fact it left me with more doubts ... doubts about love, with relationships (of all kinds ). Just doubts.

What do you think about this episode? Is it just me raving? probably, but I would like some feedback :((

Sort:  

Congratulations @bisturidiamante! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!