[Internet Oddities] The Sun Vanished

in #internetoddities6 years ago (edited)

Imagine it, you wake up to find it still dark outside. You check the clock, and the sun should have risen by now. You check your phone and the TV, to find that the sun really has vanished. Riots are breaking out, and a strange set of lights, not dissimilar to descriptions of the deadlights from Stephen King's IT, are... changing people. That's the story that is playing out on Twitter at the moment, thanks to a new account called TheSunVanished.

We're shown short videos and images of what's happening to this particular twitter user, as well as text conversations he manages to have with other survivors. I have to say, I'm a bit of a fan of these new media style horror stories. As usual, it's not perfect with plenty of obvious logical failings, but it's enjoyable nonetheless. I won't go through the story here, as I feel it's best enjoyed how the creator intended it to be, through a series of tweets. I've often thought about doing my own version of one of these, but lack the creative imagination to come up with an original story idea. Maybe I'll find inspiration one day.

Follow @TheSunVanished on Twitter to catch up on the story



What do you make of these creepy tweets? Let me know your thoughts and feelings down in the comment section and as always, make sure to follow me for the latest Cryptocurrency, Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates. If you're a fan of strange YouTube videos, you might want to follow me on Twitter. Until next time, take it easy!


Source:
TheSunVanished on Twitter (https://twitter.com/thesunvanished)

All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

Wow.. I love that. What a great creative idea!! A brilliant new way of story writing. Now I'm going to think about ideas for a creepy story ;)

I really enjoy them, I've seen a few over the past couple of years but I'm usually a bit late to the party. It's nice to catch one while it's still on-going. It's a really novel way of telling a story, similar to an ARG.

For me this is totally new ... where have I been the last years? ;) ...I'm so amazed by this idea

It's totally new to me too! Interesting stuff thanks John

I tend to find them through YouTube, I'll try and find the two best channels for this kinda horror and get back to you.

ok great!! thank you!!

Managed to find a couple, there's Nightmare Expo: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpFFItkfZz1qz5PpHpqzYBw

and ReignBot: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCchWU8ta6L-Dy3rGIxPINzw

If I find anymore I'll let you know

Wow thank you!! I'll take a look at it.

Wow, why not better face the idea of waking up in paradise? probably my own utopian, more with what we hear happening in the world every day, right?

You just planted 0.30 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 5441.23 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22203.82
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.
Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!